More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/15/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Square Enix 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

What the hell is going on?


Seriously, what the fuck is going on in the Kingdom Hearts series? Last thing I remember, there was a dude with funny hair fighting monsters with Mickey. That was the first game, right? I couldn't be bothered to pay attention to much else as the successful crossover series continued with a sequel and several titles on platforms that weren't the PlayStation 2.

So when I picked up Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance for 3DS last night at the Square Enix E3 Judges event, I was about as clueless as Mickey, Donald, and Goofy were. Apparently, King Mickey and company don't remember Sora, but Sora remembers them but decides it best not to explain. I couldn't help but feel like I was mercifully spared a whole lot of exposition I could have lived without anyway.


What I could live with, though, is Dream Drop Distance's frantic, fast-paced combat. Leaving the stylus in its slot and focusing on face buttons, KH3D keeps action feeling more like a console game and less like one of the earlier portable spinoffs to grace Nintendo's handheld systems.

Frankly, the 3D effect and the beautiful character models also surprised me. How are they cranking so much out of the 3DS hardware? The camera controlled fluidly, enemies and friends were colorful, and the framerate never failed.

It might seem like a stupid thing to comment on in a preview, but I was also happy to see that I could skip cutscenes and get straight back to action. One sequence had Sora protecting Princess Minney in a stagecoach as a giant dinosaur dream-eater attacked. Donald and Goofy certainly lived up to their slapstick nature and tipped the Three Mouseketeers off the carriage, leaving Sora to fend for himself. I had to block timed attacks with the Y button, mash away at the dream-eaters health with the A button, and cast magic attacks with X.



Outside of this boss battle, I could also daze opponents and swipe down on the touchpad for a quick-time sequence attack. Combining all of these abilities actually made for a smart balance and rhythm in fighting. If the story holds up for fans invested in the series and exploration and character development are as polished as the combat, Dream Drop Distance will certainly be worthy of the Kingdom Hearts name.

When all is said and done, it's an impressive effort from Square Enix and one worth paying attention to as its release approaches. Be sure to check out Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance when it lands on the Nintendo 3DS July 20th.
Tags:   e3, Square Enix, 3DS
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance