More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Legend of Raven Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
08/29/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nicalis 
DEVELOPER Nicalis 
RELEASE DATE  

Street Fighter III of Fighters.

Legend of Raven has been laying dormant for almost a year, with our latest preview of the title written by Blake Peterson in early September at a PS Vita event. After announcing that it would release for both PS4 and Xbox One last year in November, we have hardly heard a peep, so it was with eyebrow-raising astonishment that I found the game ready for a demonstration at Microsoft's pre-PAX ID@Xbox event.
 
Originally known as Yatagarasu, Legend of Raven draws from the core system of Street Fighter III, one of the most treasured fighters in the hardcore community, and has been carefully crafted by former King of Fighters developers. The roster may only have eight characters, but it shows that a high-quality fighter from an extremely small indie studio (in this case, Nicalis) can be done.


 
The underlying story, more deeply embedded compared to other fighting titles, revolves around Japan in 1926 in a timeline where World War II did not happen. A revolution sparks from the friction between those who hope to return Japan to the land of the gods, leading the government to enforce an iron curtain, suppress all information, and create a group of assassins collectively named the Yatagarasu, based off the three-legged crow meant to represent divine will.
 
The roster of characters should be familiar to fighting fans at least in spirit. Kou and Crow plays similar to a shotokan character like Ryu/Ken. The burly masked Chadha plays like heavy grappler like Alex with rotational-input throws, the boxer Jet has the dodging and feints of Dudley, and Jyuzumaru is essentially Fei Long with rekkas and anti-aerial kicks. Meanwhile, Shimo and Hina both have katanas that increase the range of their normals and turn them into Samurai Warrior-type characters.


 
Likewise, the system will feel similar to SFIII veterans with a set of normals, normal variants, high and low blocks, a super jump, throw, a overhead, and EX moves that cost a half-meter of energy to use. However, there are more than several differences. Characters can select one of two supers at the start of the match, not to disable one, but to make the chosen super more powerful. High and low parries are activated by pressing the right bumper button at the proper time. Holding both strong attack buttons will charge an unblockable attack, though it can be parried.
 
Overall, Legend of Raven makes the case for intense, old-school fighters and should be considered a serious contender and sleeper hit. It will release for Xbox One, PS4, and Vita, hopefully by the end of 2014.
More GR previews for this game:
Legend of Raven preview posted on 09/03/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Legend of Raven


More On GameRevolution