More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Legend of Raven Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
09/03/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nicalis 
DEVELOPER Nicalis 
RELEASE DATE  

Yatagarasu, the indie PC fighter, by another name.

It’s not without irony I report that at the Sony Playstation Vita preview event, across the table from Legend of Raven, an upgraded port of indie PC fighting game Yatagarasu developed by two former King of Fighters devs, a copy of Divekick—the fighting game community’s inside-joke-turned-into-actual-game—was on display and being pushed heavily by Sony marketing execs. Both games appear to be making an attempt to simplify fighting controls, but whereas Divekick reduces fighting game combat to a two-button scheme to satirize the technical wizardry of endless precision button combos that mean he-who-combos-first-wins, Legend of Raven is aiming for more accessibility and playability. In short, it's more of an actual fighting game.

The Sony rep on hand told me it uses Street Fighter III as a model, giving the player high and low, weak and strong punches and kicks, and upper and lower blocks. At character selection the player has the option of selecting one of two special attack combos. Once selected, these special attacks come in two flavors, one which could be performed at any time and one that does a much greater deal of damage after filling a energy bar. Anyone familiar with how energy is used in Street Fighter III will be comfortable here.



There are eight characters to choose from, with big burly pixel-art dudes and tinier samurai sword-toting girls. After selecting the character and their special attack, you also got to select your commentator, one of several professional Japanese fighting game players, though an American pro player is said to be in the works too.

As you beat your opponent down, or the other way around, the tiny avatar pic of your selected commentator appears beneath your health bar with a tiny dialogue box, though it looked like the actual dialogue was still in development and they were currently using a placeholder. Not that I wouldn’t have been able to report what was said, since the demo was entirely in Japanese.



I found the controls intuitive, and gameplay fast and fun. I did pretty well against the computer for a while, up until the point that actual skill—you know, blocking,and anticipating enemy moves—was necessary. Then it wiped the floor with me. The game looks fantastic, with the character art and animation exactly what you'd expect from veterans of the KoF franchise. The animations are nuanced and beautiful, a great asset for a 2D fighting game.

Legend of Raven looks great, and the controls for the PS Vita are intuitive, making it easy to jump in and play. The game is slated for release on PSN later this year. 
More GR previews for this game:
Legend of Raven preview posted on 08/29/14.
Tags:   Sony, PS3, Vita, PSN

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Legend of Raven


More On GameRevolution