More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Legend of Raven Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
09/03/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nicalis 
DEVELOPER Nicalis 
RELEASE DATE  

Yatagarasu, the indie PC fighter, by another name.

It’s not without irony I report that at the Sony Playstation Vita preview event, across the table from Legend of Raven, an upgraded port of indie PC fighting game Yatagarasu developed by two former King of Fighters devs, a copy of Divekick—the fighting game community’s inside-joke-turned-into-actual-game—was on display and being pushed heavily by Sony marketing execs. Both games appear to be making an attempt to simplify fighting controls, but whereas Divekick reduces fighting game combat to a two-button scheme to satirize the technical wizardry of endless precision button combos that mean he-who-combos-first-wins, Legend of Raven is aiming for more accessibility and playability. In short, it's more of an actual fighting game.

The Sony rep on hand told me it uses Street Fighter III as a model, giving the player high and low, weak and strong punches and kicks, and upper and lower blocks. At character selection the player has the option of selecting one of two special attack combos. Once selected, these special attacks come in two flavors, one which could be performed at any time and one that does a much greater deal of damage after filling a energy bar. Anyone familiar with how energy is used in Street Fighter III will be comfortable here.



There are eight characters to choose from, with big burly pixel-art dudes and tinier samurai sword-toting girls. After selecting the character and their special attack, you also got to select your commentator, one of several professional Japanese fighting game players, though an American pro player is said to be in the works too.

As you beat your opponent down, or the other way around, the tiny avatar pic of your selected commentator appears beneath your health bar with a tiny dialogue box, though it looked like the actual dialogue was still in development and they were currently using a placeholder. Not that I wouldn’t have been able to report what was said, since the demo was entirely in Japanese.



I found the controls intuitive, and gameplay fast and fun. I did pretty well against the computer for a while, up until the point that actual skill—you know, blocking,and anticipating enemy moves—was necessary. Then it wiped the floor with me. The game looks fantastic, with the character art and animation exactly what you'd expect from veterans of the KoF franchise. The animations are nuanced and beautiful, a great asset for a 2D fighting game.

Legend of Raven looks great, and the controls for the PS Vita are intuitive, making it easy to jump in and play. The game is slated for release on PSN later this year. 
More GR previews for this game:
Legend of Raven preview posted on 08/29/14.
Tags:   Sony, PS3, Vita, PSN
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Legend of Raven