More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

LittleBigPlanet (PlayStation Vita) Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
12/07/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Double Eleven, Tarsier Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Comic Mischief, Language

What do these ratings mean?

Getting touchy-feely with Sackboy-No wait, I meant-Please Officer, remove the handcuffs, this is all a misunderstanding!


Pull this, tap that, press here, tilt therethe platforming demo for LittleBigPlanet on Playstation Vita asks you to do a lot more than navigate Sackboy through the standard jumps, swings, and bubble collecting. It suggests a game that makes use of the Vita’s features in creative ways and opens up even greater possibilities for level design by the series' community of amateur designers.

As usual, the game will expect the player to interact directly with the environment. Moving Sackboy onto a block beneath a long drop, an arrow pointing downward instructs the player to drag the block down on the touchscreen and let it go to spring Sackboy up into the next area. Another area above a canyon full of spikes involves using the Vita’s gyroscope, tilting the device to one side to make a basket slide above one side of the pit to the other.



Probably the most interesting innovation is a section with a platform above and, in the background a group of Tetris-style blocks. By tapping the touchpad on the back of the Vita, the blocks will pop forward so that Sackboy can jump up to the higher platform. If the wrong block gets popped forward, all it takes is a tap to the touchscreen on the front to move it back into the background. Sony better watch outif it makes the game even more interactive, the fans might remember how much fun it is to play with blocks and go buy some.

Some of the features took me a moment to figure out, with only arrows and the expectation that the player had previously played a LittleBigPlanet game. However, it’s hard to imagine that the retail version won’t have the delightful voice of Stephen Fry to guide the player through the basics in the finished product. Yes, that’s right, I welcome the thought of a middle-aged British man telling me how to play a video game. The more you know.



The rest of the demo features a series of levels that seem primed to show the possibilities of touch-based level design to the game’s audience of amateur level designers. Most of these are single-screen mini-games. One of them is an air-hockey clone, another a driving game, and a puzzle game where an angry squid sends tiny squids down a series of shoots. The shoots each had a switch near the bottom that could be pressed on the touchscreen, flipping a door that would change the track so that the little squid could be directed to the end that was the same color. Lastly, there is a longer, maze-like underwater level, where Sackboy, encased in a large bubble, can be directed by pressing the touchscreen with care to avoid spikes or gears that might pop the bubble.

LittleBigPlanet will bring all its platforming cheer with its release alongside the PlayStation Vita on February 22, 2012.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about LittleBigPlanet (PlayStation Vita)


More On GameRevolution