More Reviews
REVIEWS Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.

Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Lone Survivor Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
08/29/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Curve Studios 
DEVELOPER Superflat Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M What do these ratings mean?

Weep and you weep alone.
 
Lone Survivor, a horror game developed almost completely by one guy, Jasper Byrne, opens with a disclaimer that you should play it in the dark, with headphones to get the full, creepy effect. Yeah… uh… I’m not sure I want to be that scared, which may be an odd description for a game with a pixel-art aesthetic.

Lone Survivor feels like a combination of Twin Peaks and the best of Silent Hill, delivered by way of a classic Lucasfilm SCUMM adventure game look and context-sensitive controls. It’s a side-scrolling survival horror game with a fatigue and hunger system and a heady psychological element.



As the game begins, you’re told that you’re the only survivor of a plague, and the lone survivor, the protagonist, won’t even give his name. What’s the use in a world without other people? Then as you venture out, you begin to find notes that indicate that there just might be others out there.

There just might be. Lone Survivor doesn’t exactly follow a linear thread of character development. Sleep in your bed and you might wind up in a hallway with a long curtain and a pair of mysterious figures seated in chairs behind it. Look into a mirror and it may take you to some other place where a man with a cardboard box suggests that he has his uses.

Then there are also the flashes—sudden appearances of characters and items that disappear an instant after appearing. It’s pretty clear, early in the game, that whatever sort of plague is out there that the game is as much about the main character’s fractured psyche as it is about surviving a viral post-apocalyptic wasteland.



The pixel art look and side-scrolling screens are perfect for the sudden jumps and psychological hiccups, since it doesn’t have to change focus or perspective. The emphasis is also clearly on exploration and discovery rather than combat. It also has quite the nasty approach to death, usually requiring you to restart the game completely when it occurs.

But these elements are perfect for the game and create a genuine sense of dread and terror at the mummy-like infected and the un-reality of the protagonists’ situation. Is he going crazy because of what’s happened to the world around him, or does the world appear fractured because he’s suffering a psychotic breakdown?

Lone Survivor, pixel art and all, is clever enough with its nonlinear approach and context-sensitive adventure gameplay, and scary enough to warrant a look for fans of traditional survival horror and innovative game design. With the Director's Cut, developed by Byrne and Curve for the PS3 and Playstation Vita slated for release this September, they've been able to add more content to the game. This includes new locations, items and sidequests. Even more creepy for your dollar. 
More GR previews for this game:
Lone Survivor preview posted on 08/29/13.
Tags:   Vita, Indie, Sony
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Lone Survivor