More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Lord of Arcana Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
01/06/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Access Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

It takes blood to heal.


Square-Enix has fallen on hard times. After the financial and critical flops of FFXIII and FFFXIV - not to mention a lackluster string of standalone console RPGs (Infinite Undisovery, The Last Remnant, NIER) - Square-Enix has once again gone back to the drawing board with the clear mission of finally producing a sure-fire winner. So enter Lord of Arcana, a PSP action RPG that more than resembles Capcom's Monster Hunter franchise, which essentially print money in Japan.

click to enlargeSaying that Lord of Arcana follow a conservative approach to multiplayer action RPGs is almost too easy. Just glance over the game's setup and it becomes obvious: A courage warrior. The Horodyn Kingdom. Collect stones of Arcana. Regain memory. Gain ultimate power. A central hub. Accept quests. Form party. Kill monsters. Gain loot. Craft weapon. Learn magic. Accept another quest. Repeat. Did I miss anything?

Certainly, almost any action RPG could be describes this way, but though LoA follows the Monster Hunter formula to the letter, it has several notable distinctions. The first is that it forgoes the broader aduience of a 'T' rating and targets the blood-lovin' 'M' crowd. It's not as gore-tastic as Splatterhouse (what is?), but there's enough blood that it will splatter across the screen with every successful hit of your blade against a monster's flesh.

click to enlargeNot that your enemies deserve mercy in any way, mind you. Designed by the likes of Tetsuya Nomura and Spawn comic artist Todd McFarlane, the bosses tend to be gigantic, gruesome brutes that don't mind stomping your sorry ass into the ground. Some are so badass that you'll need to finish them off with a large summon followed by a God of War quick-time event. If you're in a party, each member has to input the right button at the right time or else the execution attempt fails; fortunately, if someone messes up, the other members can make a recovery (and shout at you in the process).

That's all there is to Lord of Arcana. With up to 4-player ad-hoc multiplayer and its assuredly appealing gameplay, it should be at the very least a game that will test the waters of how receptive the American audience is on handheld multiplayer RPGs. Already out in Japan, Lord of Arcana will arrive in North American stores January 25th, 2011.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Lord of Arcana


More On GameRevolution