More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Lords of the Fallen Preview

Jonathan_Leack By:
Jonathan_Leack
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER City Interactive 
DEVELOPER The Deck 13 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

We aren’t snipers anymore.

City Interactive might be known for its Sniper franchise, but soon it’ll declare war on the action RPG genre with Lords of the Fallen. It’s a bold move by the studio, but it might be its best decision yet.

In Lords of the Fallen you play as one of four character classes, with each class defined by the weapons that class can equip. For example, the Cleric prefers the strength of two-handed hammers while the Rogue is a master of daggers. Weapons vary greatly in speed and technique. Individual classes also have unique abilities and skill trees to make subsequent playthroughts intriguing.



This might be an action RPG, but don’t think you can just charge into battle and spam abilities. You’ll quickly be punished for your foolish actions. The game has vicious foes who would like nothing less than to chop you in half. You’d be wise to learn enemy habits and dodge their attempts to murder you.

Most combat sequences will be between yourself and fewer than four foes. It’s intimate and challenging with blows received putting a large dent in your health pool. It’s difficult not to draw a correlation with Dark Souls, a game that follows some of the same core principles. However, Lords of the Fallen isn’t a game that emphasizes constant trial and error. Instead, it fills up time with a story.



If you love RPGs with dark settings, then you’ll love what’s here. It’s highly stylized with huge enemies in iron armor and highly detailed cathedrals. You’ll regularly find yourself exploring the game’s engrossing world. That’s not a bad idea either, because there are hidden Shards of the Fallen hidden throughout the game world. Once they've been obtained you receive valuable loot.

City Interactive might not currently be known as an RPG developer, but it will soon. Lords of the Fallen is a game that has the potential to entertain even the most demanding RPG fans. 
More GR previews for this game:
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 04/22/14.
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 01/30/14.
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 09/01/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Lords of the Fallen


More On GameRevolution