More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Lords of the Fallen Preview

Jonathan_Leack By:
Jonathan_Leack
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER City Interactive 
DEVELOPER The Deck 13 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

We aren’t snipers anymore.

City Interactive might be known for its Sniper franchise, but soon it’ll declare war on the action RPG genre with Lords of the Fallen. It’s a bold move by the studio, but it might be its best decision yet.

In Lords of the Fallen you play as one of four character classes, with each class defined by the weapons that class can equip. For example, the Cleric prefers the strength of two-handed hammers while the Rogue is a master of daggers. Weapons vary greatly in speed and technique. Individual classes also have unique abilities and skill trees to make subsequent playthroughts intriguing.



This might be an action RPG, but don’t think you can just charge into battle and spam abilities. You’ll quickly be punished for your foolish actions. The game has vicious foes who would like nothing less than to chop you in half. You’d be wise to learn enemy habits and dodge their attempts to murder you.

Most combat sequences will be between yourself and fewer than four foes. It’s intimate and challenging with blows received putting a large dent in your health pool. It’s difficult not to draw a correlation with Dark Souls, a game that follows some of the same core principles. However, Lords of the Fallen isn’t a game that emphasizes constant trial and error. Instead, it fills up time with a story.



If you love RPGs with dark settings, then you’ll love what’s here. It’s highly stylized with huge enemies in iron armor and highly detailed cathedrals. You’ll regularly find yourself exploring the game’s engrossing world. That’s not a bad idea either, because there are hidden Shards of the Fallen hidden throughout the game world. Once they've been obtained you receive valuable loot.

City Interactive might not currently be known as an RPG developer, but it will soon. Lords of the Fallen is a game that has the potential to entertain even the most demanding RPG fans. 
More GR previews for this game:
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 06/14/13.
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 09/01/13.
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 01/30/14.
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 04/22/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Lords of the Fallen