More Reviews
REVIEWS BOXBOY! Review
What does the box say? Nothing. And it's gloriously addictive.

Life is Strange: Episode 2 - Out Review
The secret lives of ordinary American teenagers packs an emotional wallop in the latest installment of Life is Strange.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Dirty Bomb Preview
Looking for a more competitive, challenging online FPS multiplayer game? Splash Damage is introducing just that by dropping a Dirty Bomb on the free-to-play game market.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Stealth Inc 2: A Game of Clones
Release date: Out Now

Dark Souls II: Scholar of the First Sin
Release date: 04/07/15


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, Die: April 2015 Releases
It's really all about Mortal Kombat X this month. So will you buy it, try it, or should it die?!

Interview: Kevin Spacey Is A Part of Call of Duty's Evolution, Says Sledgehammer Games' Dev
At the Call of Duty World Championship, Mike Mejia explains the success of the tournament and how Call of Duty needed to evolve.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Top 50 Pokémon of All Time
Can you believe there are now six generations of Pokémon? Six!! That's a crazy amount of different creatures to collect. But which are the cream of the crop? Don't worry, Magikarp isn't actually one of them.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
Re-Masters - Next-Gen Backwards Compatibility?
By shandog137
Posted on 03/30/15
I am a PS3 owner and someday hope to be a PS4 owner, yet I am not at all dissatisfied with my choice to delay purchase, solely based on the current PS4 library. When I transitioned from a Playstation 1 to a Playstation 2, I was pleasantly surprised that I could for the most part rid myself of my PS1...

Lords of the Fallen Preview

Jonathan_Leack By:
Jonathan_Leack
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER City Interactive 
DEVELOPER The Deck 13 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

We aren’t snipers anymore.

City Interactive might be known for its Sniper franchise, but soon it’ll declare war on the action RPG genre with Lords of the Fallen. It’s a bold move by the studio, but it might be its best decision yet.

In Lords of the Fallen you play as one of four character classes, with each class defined by the weapons that class can equip. For example, the Cleric prefers the strength of two-handed hammers while the Rogue is a master of daggers. Weapons vary greatly in speed and technique. Individual classes also have unique abilities and skill trees to make subsequent playthroughts intriguing.



This might be an action RPG, but don’t think you can just charge into battle and spam abilities. You’ll quickly be punished for your foolish actions. The game has vicious foes who would like nothing less than to chop you in half. You’d be wise to learn enemy habits and dodge their attempts to murder you.

Most combat sequences will be between yourself and fewer than four foes. It’s intimate and challenging with blows received putting a large dent in your health pool. It’s difficult not to draw a correlation with Dark Souls, a game that follows some of the same core principles. However, Lords of the Fallen isn’t a game that emphasizes constant trial and error. Instead, it fills up time with a story.



If you love RPGs with dark settings, then you’ll love what’s here. It’s highly stylized with huge enemies in iron armor and highly detailed cathedrals. You’ll regularly find yourself exploring the game’s engrossing world. That’s not a bad idea either, because there are hidden Shards of the Fallen hidden throughout the game world. Once they've been obtained you receive valuable loot.

City Interactive might not currently be known as an RPG developer, but it will soon. Lords of the Fallen is a game that has the potential to entertain even the most demanding RPG fans. 
More GR previews for this game:
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 06/14/13.
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 09/01/13.
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 01/30/14.
Lords of the Fallen preview posted on 04/22/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Lords of the Fallen


More On GameRevolution