More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/19/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Next Level Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Crude Humor, Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Boobusters!


Since showing at last year's E3, Luigi's Mansion 2 for the 3DS has finally received the subtitle "Dark Moon", which is also the name of the mysterious object that Luigi must find as he once again explores a haunted mansion with his trusty vacuum cleaner. Professor E. Gadd's home has been raided by ghosts, and so he sends scaredy-cat Luigi via the Pixel Teleporter to suck them all up.


Dark Moon works by and large just as the original Luigi's Mansion did. This time around, he'll need to clean up multiple haunted houses, mainly by tiptoeing his way through each room and gathering hidden keys to unlock each door. Some of these keys will be found in treasure chests, hidden beneath a rag that needs to be vacuumed off, but some of them can just be sucked off a mouse's tail or found in a hole in the wall hidden by some rickety planks.

This requires Luigi to be extremely thorough in looking through windows and scouring each item in the room by either blowing or sucking air upwards and downwards. Carpets can be blown away to reveal floor switches and the candles on the chandelier can be extinguished to reveal coins... lots and lots of coins. Money is everywhere, with more than four hundred coins hidden in just the first four rooms.


The visuals also can't be denied. The cel-shaded environments, filled with broken windows, craggy trees, and framed paintings, have incredible attention to detail and immediately react to the lighting. On occasion, a bolt of lightning will flash across the sky and turn the scene into an epileptic series of black and white silhouettes. It may not be as creepy as some more mature horror titles, but it fits right in with Nintendo's light humor.

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon will be released some time during the holiday season 2012.
More GR previews for this game:
Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon preview posted on 01/24/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon


More On GameRevolution