More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/19/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Next Level Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Crude Humor, Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Boobusters!


Since showing at last year's E3, Luigi's Mansion 2 for the 3DS has finally received the subtitle "Dark Moon", which is also the name of the mysterious object that Luigi must find as he once again explores a haunted mansion with his trusty vacuum cleaner. Professor E. Gadd's home has been raided by ghosts, and so he sends scaredy-cat Luigi via the Pixel Teleporter to suck them all up.


Dark Moon works by and large just as the original Luigi's Mansion did. This time around, he'll need to clean up multiple haunted houses, mainly by tiptoeing his way through each room and gathering hidden keys to unlock each door. Some of these keys will be found in treasure chests, hidden beneath a rag that needs to be vacuumed off, but some of them can just be sucked off a mouse's tail or found in a hole in the wall hidden by some rickety planks.

This requires Luigi to be extremely thorough in looking through windows and scouring each item in the room by either blowing or sucking air upwards and downwards. Carpets can be blown away to reveal floor switches and the candles on the chandelier can be extinguished to reveal coins... lots and lots of coins. Money is everywhere, with more than four hundred coins hidden in just the first four rooms.


The visuals also can't be denied. The cel-shaded environments, filled with broken windows, craggy trees, and framed paintings, have incredible attention to detail and immediately react to the lighting. On occasion, a bolt of lightning will flash across the sky and turn the scene into an epileptic series of black and white silhouettes. It may not be as creepy as some more mature horror titles, but it fits right in with Nintendo's light humor.

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon will be released some time during the holiday season 2012.
More GR previews for this game:
Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon preview posted on 01/24/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon