More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Mad Max Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/16/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. 
DEVELOPER Avalanche Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

It's like a movie, but all the damage is yours to deal.

Mad Max is a loved franchise, more so than I realized before this year's E3. And with the field rife with alternate reality, wasteland-centralized, Wild West-themed titles, everything seems to be coming full circle with the inclusion of one of the beloved innovators in the post-apocalypse genre.  Also, it's that kind of happy violence that comes with the end of the world as we know it, so you know you wanna play it.

Unfortunately, it was a guided demo, so I wasn't able to get my hands on it personally, but I did get to see some of the more in-depth features in the playthrough, like, for a good example, the car customization options. In the story, Max's prized ride is destroyed and he's on a quest to build up a new one, this time called the "Magnum Opus," which is entirely customizable right down to the tires. 



All of the adjustments, in turn, determine the physics and handling of your ride; if you want a light, maneuverable machine, you're going to have to choose light parts designed to move around. In the menu you can actually see how a heavy part can sink the shocks of your car, so keep it in mind.

The game[lay is varied between the car combat and on-foot action. While car combat is a major focus, and the fights are super straightforward, the on-foot combat can be approached any way the player chooses. You can go in guns-a-blazin', but be prepared to have a major fight on your hands for the duration of the battle.



Discretion is the better part of valor, and sneaking around to take out anyone who would call for reinforcements will (occasionally) trump the brute force of breaking the doors down. Even still, with weapons like the Lightning Stick, a staff that can be stabbed into an opponent who then promptly blows up -- sometimes you just gotta do damage the old-fashioned way.

The building of your custom Magnum Opus begins some time in 2014 on PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC.
Tags:   E3, Mad Max, Warner Bros.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Mad Max