More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Madden NFL 12 Preview

Jessica_Vazquez By:
Jessica_Vazquez
08/05/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 6 
PUBLISHER EA Sports 
DEVELOPER EA Tiburon 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

"Shaun Ellis, I choose you!"


Time to set aside what ol' Danny Boy Bischoff has to say about NCAA Football 2012, strap on your adult diaper pants, and take a look at EA's Madden NFL 2012.

As I sat on the comfy sofa at the EA Summer Showcase bathed in bluish light, I pondered the nature of my opponent. When the person I paired up to play one of the most iconic sports franchises of all time started off by telling me that she had never played a sports game on a console, let alone in real life, I probably should have put some money on the match. This is after I imagined my virtual NFL world, where the Jets went on to conquer the Saints in a double-digit-shut out, making my chocolaty mocha-chino from the endless coffee bar at the event all that more delicious.


Like past titles in the series, Madden 2012 has many unique game modes but none of them were readily available during the demo. But have no fear, Madden devotees, as you still have all the customizable features afforded to you by career modes in the past. EA Sports have even expanded features of the Franchise mode to increase roster size and make rookie scouting and free-agent bidding more efficient. Custom playbooks are still available, allowing more adventurous players to take an existing play and completely tailor them to their own taste.

One of the most interesting new features of the game is Dynamic Player Performance, which essentially gives your team players namby-pamby feelings. Throughout the course of a game/career in franchise mode, each players confidence will fluctuate according to their performance.


As someone who spent a large amount of her youth playing Madden on the Sega Game Gear and original Xbox, I can tell you that the evolution of this franchise has been impressive. I remember watching my uncle and his friends lug numerous TV sets into my grandmother's house to have "Madden Parties" when I was in elementary school. Oh, what a barbaric time that was. I wish I had a time machine so I could take an Xbox 360 back to my grandma's house and watch a room full of grown men crap their pants.

If fantasy football just isn't cutting it for you anymore, Madden NFL 2012 is what you should be playing when it hits the digital gridiron August 30, 2011.
More GR previews for this game:
Madden NFL 12 preview posted on 08/05/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Madden NFL 12


More On GameRevolution