More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
04/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER AlphaDream 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Luiginception: How many levels down will Mario go in the newest of the handheld RPG series? 

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team was my favorite of the games I saw at the 3DS preview event this Wednesday. Thankfully, it also had the longest demo I've ever played at an event.

The game is set on the seemingly abandoned Pi'illo island, where soon after arriving for a vacation with the Mario Bros., Princess Peach disappears. (Of course.) The game moves between two separate areas of gameplay: Pi'illo Island locations with traditional Mario & Luigi gameplay, and Luigi's dream world where Mario fights alone but is granted special powers and assistance by Luigi's imagination, or "Luigination."


Soon after starting the demo, a rope bridge breaks, leaving Mario and Luigi down in the ruins of the Pi'illo castle. Unable to move on, they're guided by a Pi'illo native, Dreambert, who needs Mario's block-breaking power to free his people from the dream world, some of whom may know where Peach has disappeared to. They find a pillow that, when Luigi sleeps on it, allows Mario to enter Luigi's dreams which are at the same frequency as the Pi'illo people's dreams.

Though we weren't able to see it, we were told in the presentation that Luigi is amazing in his dreams. People will talk about his amazing feats and his boldness.

On gameplay, in battles when on Pi'illo Island, you have the same timed attacks and combo attacks with Mario and Luigi from prior games in the series. You can avoid enemy attacks by making Mario or Luigi jump by pressing their respective buttons. Moving about Pi'illo island is done in a 3D environmenta first for the seriesthough the characters are still sprite-based.

In Luigi's dreams, however, the action is side-scrolling, similar to being inside Bowser in Bowser's Inside Story. When Mario does his jump attack, if button presses are properly timed, a ton of Luigis (that the devs called "Luiginoids") will fall on the enemies after Mario finishes his attack. You also have access to Luiginary Attacks in the place of normal special combo attacks like shells.


The Luiginary Attack shown in the demo featured a Katamari mini-game in which Mario rolled up a ball of as many Luiginoids as he could gather along a path (using the 3DS's gyroscope to steer, with the 3D mode automatically turning off during the attack), then kicked them like a giant soccer ball at his enemies. The more Luiginoids you gather, the more damage you deal.

The goal in the dream sections is for Mario to find and smash Nightmare Chunks, in which the Pi'illo people are trapped. Towards the end of the demo, Dreambert reveals that the Pi'illo people were trapped after a conflict between the Pi'illos and the villain, Antasma, who shattered the Dark Stone, creating the Nightmare Chunks.

When one of the trapped Pi'illo people suggests that they should go to the mysterious Dream's Deep, and that Antasma may have kidnapped Peach, Dreambert mentions possibly having been there. "Curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal, Dreambert/Revan?" When I suggested that to the Nintendo rep on-hand, he just laughed but didn't indicate one way or the other.


While Luigi is sleeping, it's sometimes necessary to play with his sleeping face on the bottom screen in order to affect the action in the dream. Tweaking his mustache allows the player to use a dream version to slingshot Mario in the dream. Tickling his nose will make him sneeze, pushing items forward from the background or clearing debris.

Visually, the game is gorgeous and makes the transition handily to 3D. In the isometric Pi'illo Island areas, everything has a nice clean look to it. The characters are still sprite-basedbut have some 3D depth added so they match the background. It's an interesting shift for the series which had been wholly 2D with pixel art backgrounds. Nintendo made some waves awhile back about de-emphasizing the 3D aspect of the device to make it more marketable; if anything, their 3DS event shows that they've actually pushed the actual tech further and with better results.

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team is more than a pleasant surprise that brings the series' trademark comedy and cleverness to a 3D experience. It will be available in stores and in the eShop on August 11, 2013.
Tags:   Nintendo, 3DS, eShop, Mario, Luigi

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Mario & Luigi: Dream Team


More On GameRevolution