More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Mario Tennis Open Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
03/15/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Great tennis balls of fire!


Oh, Camelot. You’re like the McRib;  most of the time you’re nowhere to be found, and then you come along once every year or two and get everyone all excited before you up and disappear again. Unlike the McRib, however, Camelot at least puts out high quality products made with high quality ingredients, and the Mario Tennis franchise is perhaps the strongest example of that.


Conspicuously absent from almost every event up until this year’s GDC, Mario Tennis Open finally came out from behind the curtains with gusto, offering convention-goers a playable demo featuring nearly all the characters from 2004’s Mario Power Tennis along with a multitude of courts on which to play. We didn’t spy any new characters this time, with the exception of playing as a Mii, but that is of course subject to change as the game chugs along in development.
 
The Mario Tennis basics remain intact and as simple as ever. The A and B buttons still control most of your shot options, including lob and drop shots if you hit them alternatively, but Open adds the X and Y buttons to control “simple” and “flat” shots respectively. It’s a little tough with just a few demo matches to see how nuanced the new shot types are—that’ll require some quality time later on down the road.


What’s sure to cause some controversy among fans is that the character-specific power shots are no longer in the game. On one hand they were a bit too “arcade-y” for some and the animations would cut into fast volleys a lot, but on the other they added flavor and differentiation between the characters.
 
In place of the old character power shots is now a context-specific system to get power shots when the chance arises. Unlike before, when a star would simply appear and doing any well-timed shot would result in a blazing star shot, there will now be a color-coded symbol on the ground that corresponds to the different shot types. To get the added oomph of a power shot, you must not only be in place and have the correct timing, you also need to use the corresponding button that matches the symbol’s shot type.

 
As you might expect, there’s also the obligatory touch screen controls. If you don’t like pushing buttons, all the different shot options are available in a layout on the touch screen, including lob and drop shots. What’s more interesting is that the game takes advantage of the 3DS gyroscope—holding the system up vertically will switch to more of an over-the-shoulder view. In this view, physically aiming the 3DS at different sides of the court will direct your shot. It’ll take some getting used to, but it may have the potential of having a bit higher shot accuracy than the Circle Pad.
 
Camelot is scheduled to serve up Mario Tennis Open on May 20th, 2012.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Mario Tennis Open