More Reviews
REVIEWS Life is Strange: Episode 2 - Out Review
The secret lives of ordinary American teenagers packs an emotional wallop in the latest installment of Life is Strange.

The Sims 4 Get to Work Expansion Review
Electronic Arts hopes that Get to Work will make you Get to The Sims 4.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Dirty Bomb Preview
Looking for a more competitive, challenging online FPS multiplayer game? Splash Damage is introducing just that by dropping a Dirty Bomb on the free-to-play game market.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Stealth Inc 2: A Game of Clones
Release date: Out Now

Dark Souls II: Scholar of the First Sin
Release date: 04/07/15


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, Die: April 2015 Releases
It's really all about Mortal Kombat X this month. So will you buy it, try it, or should it die?!

Interview: Kevin Spacey Is A Part of Call of Duty's Evolution, Says Sledgehammer Games' Dev
At the Call of Duty World Championship, Mike Mejia explains the success of the tournament and how Call of Duty needed to evolve.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Top 50 Pokémon of All Time
Can you believe there are now six generations of Pokémon? Six!! That's a crazy amount of different creatures to collect. But which are the cream of the crop? Don't worry, Magikarp isn't actually one of them.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
Re-Masters - Next-Gen Backwards Compatibility?
By shandog137
Posted on 03/30/15
I am a PS3 owner and someday hope to be a PS4 owner, yet I am not at all dissatisfied with my choice to delay purchase, solely based on the current PS4 library. When I transitioned from a Playstation 1 to a Playstation 2, I was pleasantly surprised that I could for the most part rid myself of my PS1...

Medal of Honor: Warfighter Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Danger Close 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

And another one bites the bullet.


I, like many gamers out there, measure my satisfaction with a title on my level of success with it. Why would you want to play a multiplayer title for hours at a time if you're getting killed every 10 seconds? Why would you continue to punish yourself that way?

Luckily for Medal of Honor: Warfighter, I found myself to be damn good at the game, so color me pleased with what Electronic Arts and Danger Close have brought to the series and its multiplayer offerings.


In particular, I like how Danger Close has created classes that matter at a core level. Choosing a class in many multiplayer shooters doesn't particularly matter because customization can do away with any differentiation there originally was in the class variety. Instead, choosing the heavy class in Warfighter meant you moved slower and carried a ton of firepower, while choosing the scout meant you were going to be in the back of the battle sniping at enemies.

I chose a high tech class that came complete with infrared goggles, a portable UAV device, and a cooldown artillerary strike. I wanted to be nimble, but equipped so that I wouldn't be ambushed by the enemy team.

My strategy paid off. The UAV meant I didn't need to constantly watch my back. When that device was cooling down, I used the infrared goggles to see ahead of me in my push towards another capture point.


Warfighter also encourages you to partner up with other players for survival and strength. Danger Close cited a sensation actual soldiers feel when working together in the field when detailing this buddy system mechanic. Designated partners can approach each other for more ammo and health, and players who kill their partner's assailant will actually give their partner a free, immediate respawn at their side.

Without seeing much single-player or getting a chance to play it for myself, I'm tentative on Medal of Honor: Warfighter. Despite that, I can say with confidence that its multiplayer is already leaps and bounds ahead of 2010's Medal of Honor title: It's not the beta test for BF3, it's unique, and having personally finished in first place on the winning team, it's quite a lot of fun.

Warfighter snipes into action on October 23, 2012.
More GR previews for this game:
Medal of Honor: Warfighter preview posted on 03/08/12.
Medal of Honor: Warfighter preview posted on 03/08/12.
Medal of Honor: Warfighter preview posted on 10/11/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Medal of Honor: Warfighter


More On GameRevolution