More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Metal Gear Solid Snake Eater 3D Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
08/02/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Kojima Productions 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

Sneaking around in a bright purple jumpsuit.


Being a Metal Gearhead (a phrase I’m amazed nobody’s coined yet), I’ve mused about the series, posing and answering tough questions to myself: How did the nanomachines in Liquid’s arm somehow change Ocelot’s voice box? How did Fortune really stop those missiles in MGS2? And why the hell does Johnny Sasaki keep eating food that gives him the runs?

But I’ve also pondered which game is the overall best on a stand-alone basis, self-contained and outside the context of the series. And as much as I love MGS1, I have to admit that Snake Eater takes that honor handily. The Cold War setting—perfect for the nuclear tension-laced MGS—the sophisticated camouflage system refining the stealth genre, the sincere heart-wrenching drama between Snake and The Boss; everything about MGS3 comes together to make a tour-de-force gaming experience.



It’s for that reason that I think this particular game was chosen for the series’ 3DS debut. It also doesn’t hurt, as Konami has keenly pointed out, that the jungle foliage provides the perfect environment for detailed 3D visuals as you sneak your way through tall grass, swamps, and cliffsides.

I’ve played through the first half hour or so, right up to the scene where Naked Snake first runs into Sokolov. Judging from that initial gameplay, Snake Eater 3D looks like a flawless port of the PS2 original with perhaps even better graphics than before. I also can’t deny that I was impressed by how well each individual blade of grass stood out in 3D.

Sneaking around with the circle pad feels good, regardless of whether Snake’s crawling through flora or running from gunfire. I’m usually put off by handheld games dumping controls onto the touchscreen, but unlike Splinter Cell 3D, this one doesn’t feel as overly cumbersome—perhaps because the touchscreen controls revolve mostly around equipping items and weapons, which was always a bit cumbersome in the MGS series anyway.

The 3DS version will also have a “make-your-own-camo” feature using the system’s camera. The trailer demonstrated, for instance, that snapping a pic of some bright purple flowers would give Snake a flamboyant purple, textured outfit. I was assured later in a closed-door interview that the flowers were used in the trailer to clearly show the custom photo-camo in action, but that if you actually tried such an example in the game you would (as expected) be pretty much dead within a minute.



When I asked how the photo-camo feature calculated the effectiveness of a photo, I wasn’t given a clear definition, because that would involve a lot of math and stuff (gross!). But they did make a point of saying that their algorithm took many factors into consideration, not just the prevailing color of whatever object you snap a pic of.

If you missed MGS3 the first time around, or you just want to revisit an old favorite in a new dimension, Snake Eater 3D promises to be just as satisfying as the original. Originally scheduled for a November 2011 release, a delay into early 2012 was recently announced.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Metal Gear Solid Snake Eater 3D