More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Metroid Prime Preview

Johnny_Liu By:
Johnny_Liu
01/07/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Primed and ready to fire.

It's common knowledge that Nintendo fans are more vocal than Sony or Microsoft supporters. Maybe it's due to eating all those mushrooms over the years.

I witnessed this firsthand at last week's E3 show. The Nintendo booth area was swarming with talkative fans cheering excitedly at every mascot nuance. While I was waiting in line to play Metroid Prime, though, I discovered that the vocal guy next to me was actually behind the very game. Hey, if I made a game, I'd love to go around incognito and see what people thought of my work, too.

It turns out I was standing with David "Zoid" Kirsch of Retro Studios, Senior Gameplay Programmer, who in the past worked with Id on several of the Quake games before moving on to join the Metroid Prime team. Through a combination of happenstance and slick journalistic know-how, I was able to talk to him about his game and have a few questions and concerns filled in.

Zoid is responsible for the data streaming that takes place when you travel from one section of the world to the next. The design goal of Metroid Prime was to perpetuate the feel of a massive, endless world. By properly streaming the content of the next area while the door locks open, the game appears to flow seamlessly. It's a trick that we've seen in some third-person adventures, but never really in a first-person shooter.

Speaking of which, the big question most people have about Metroid Prime is: Why a first-person shooter? Nintendo and Zoid's answer is that they set out to do something wholly different from the original Metroid. Nintendo understands that this is a popular franchise, but they want to move it in a new direction while still remaining loyal to the original elements. And in many ways, they have actually achieved that goal.

The E3 demo was essentially the introduction of the game. It begins with Samus' spaceship landing on an unnamed world, and ends with Samus escaping from the impending explosion of yet another planet. Tsk, tsk. Always blowing up planets.

Zoid is also responsible for the Queen Parasite boss at the end of the E3 demo. "Madam Ugliness" is encased in a giant cylindrical shield. Attacks can only be made through lapses in her shield, and Samus can dash around to avoid the energy pulses she sends back. Samus also has the ability to scan objects for added information and weak points. While she scans and downloads data, Samus is left momentarily vulnerable.

Though the game is played from a first-person perspective, it really isn't a full-on console FPS. Movement and aiming are asynchronous; your viewpoint is fixed and if you want to look up or down, you have to use the aim button. The aim button will switch the movement control into a viewpoint control. In order to get around having to pause and aim, there's a lock-on ability to target and gun down your nearest opponent. Think of playing Zelda in first person, but instead of a sword, you shoot.

A third-person perspective is utilized when Samus uses her morph ball. There is a fantastic metal whirring sound effect while Samus rolls about and the physics of the ball arouse memories of Marble Madness. Now that we know Samus can ball, I'm still wondering whether she will still have her trusty screw attack. Hehe.

What I find most appealing so far is the visual presentation of the game. The colors have a vibrancy that recreate the world of the classic Super Metroid in three dimensions. The first-person perspective lets you play through Samus' own eyes, with the smoky glass of her helmet displaying all the information she'll need on her adventures, from health to data-scanning readouts. It's a smart interface.

Though the E3 demo certainly impressed, I have yet to see wide open stretches of huge space filled with enemies, so I haven't really felt what it will be like to taking on throngs of parasitic baddies. Sadly, there will be no multiplayer, though I suppose that's also in concert with the older Metroid games. Hopefully that will mean a long, engaging single-player experience.

While we all have concerns about the switch from classic side-scrolling action to first-person shooting, Metroid Prime still looks to capture the magic of its forbears while giving the series a fresh new look. The blending of old and new is set for release this holiday season.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Metroid Prime