More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Michael Phelps - Push The Limit Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/15/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER 505 Games 
DEVELOPER Blitz Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Swim 'til you can't see land.

 
Swimming is a sport not well represented in the video game world. When it has been included in sports compilations (like the Summer Olympics collections), all that comes out is a simplistic timing game like the old Track & Field titles. With Michael Phelps on the box (and talking to you, out of the pool, in the game) and being a swimmer myself, I wanted to see just how deep this one can go.

All four strokes are here and available for play: backstroke, breaststroke, butterfly, and freestyle. So far we know about a career mode, split-screen multiplayer, and a party mode that can support up to 8 players, both off- and online. The arenas to swim in include classic Olympic and other world-caliber swimming stadiums from around the globe, and real swimmers aside from Phelps make appearances (personally, Jason Lezak better get some recognition for saving the 8-gold medal streak).


I have some reservations about the head-to-head multiplayer since players have to swing their arms pretty wildly, so not only does it take up a lot of space but people can hit each other (especially with the butterfly). Also, the strokes are stand-up accommodations for their actual movement, so speaking as someone with some training it doesn't feel like swimming much, but playing it in a freestyle match was a good workout at least.

I wasn't able to wrangle a firm release date, but I was repeatedly told Fall 2011. I hope they hurry up then, because it could use some sharper recognition from the Kinect and some touch-ups with the water… but we'll see how it fares at the finish line.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Michael Phelps - Push The Limit


More On GameRevolution