More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

NBA Baller Beats Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
06/09/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Majesco 
DEVELOPER HB Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Lyrics

What do these ratings mean?

Shake and bake training.


Initially, I thought NBA Baller Beats was a game where pro basketball players made music using the latest sound software. But when I did some real research I learned it is, for the most part, playing basketball to music, Guitar Hero-style. Using the Xbox Kinect system, body movement is tracked, and much like the note charts of Rock Band, G.H., and other music simulators, Baller Beats has you dribbling an actual basketball to a song of your choice and pattern set for different skill levels.

For the E3 demo, Majesco reach out to "The Professor" of And1 Basketball and Deron Williams, NBA point guard for the New Jersey Nets, for a quick demonstration. However, it is made for all ages and player skill. Setting the difficulty on easy will have you start off with a slow simple dribble with an occasional crossover throw in; on the top difficultly, the step chart will want you to perform some of the tough moves seen on TV.



These are the kind of skills pro guys and even a few good college and high school players have: crossovers between the legs, dribbling behind the back, fake crossovers, and more. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is all truly a very good way for people to practice and get better with their ball handling.

When I played, it had me sweating and tired. Doubling as a game and workout, it helps stimulate the mind and body. Quite unbelievably really what some of the stuff people can do with a ball. And the great part about it is, it's never too late to pick one up and get to bouncing. The soundtrack has plenty of selection for a good bounce rhythm, but if I hear "Party Rock" by LMFAO one more time, I'm throwing the whole game out of the window.



The only thing I question is: What if you don't have the space or right floor surface in your house to play? Parents are going to have some fantastic nights when little Johnny is dribbling away at midnight. The cool part, though, is that the official Spalding ball comes with the game, no extra charge, so maybe Johnny's parents will just send him down the street to the park for some live hoops. (Speaking of which, side note, I asked Deron Williams if he would come to the Warriors, just as a joke. His reply, "Hell naw." My poor Golden State team, we'll never have any all-stars.)

But all in all, the concept of NBA Baller Beats is new and refreshing. I'm sure it will do well when released some time in September 2012.
Tags:   E3, Majesco, Kinect

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about NBA Baller Beats


More On GameRevolution