More Reviews
REVIEWS NARUTO SHIPPUDEN: Ultimate Ninja Review
Those familiar with the Naruto series should be pleased to know this finale gives everything there is to want in an ending episode.

This War of Mine: The Little One Review
Are kids enough of a reason to jump platforms?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Arslan: The Warriors of Legend
Release date: 02/09/16

Mighty No. 9
Release date: 02/09/16

Factotum 90
Release date: 02/10/16

Aegis of Earth: Protonovus Assault
Release date: 03/01/16


LATEST FEATURES A Tips Guide For Surviving XCOM 2's Difficult Campaign
Get a leg up on the alien opposition.

Guys, We've Reached... Peak Earthbound
We talk Earthbound -- the original postmodern RPG -- and then discuss YIIK: A Postmodern RPG with one of its creators.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

NBA Baller Beats Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
06/09/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Majesco 
DEVELOPER HB Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Lyrics

What do these ratings mean?

Shake and bake training.


Initially, I thought NBA Baller Beats was a game where pro basketball players made music using the latest sound software. But when I did some real research I learned it is, for the most part, playing basketball to music, Guitar Hero-style. Using the Xbox Kinect system, body movement is tracked, and much like the note charts of Rock Band, G.H., and other music simulators, Baller Beats has you dribbling an actual basketball to a song of your choice and pattern set for different skill levels.

For the E3 demo, Majesco reach out to "The Professor" of And1 Basketball and Deron Williams, NBA point guard for the New Jersey Nets, for a quick demonstration. However, it is made for all ages and player skill. Setting the difficulty on easy will have you start off with a slow simple dribble with an occasional crossover throw in; on the top difficultly, the step chart will want you to perform some of the tough moves seen on TV.



These are the kind of skills pro guys and even a few good college and high school players have: crossovers between the legs, dribbling behind the back, fake crossovers, and more. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is all truly a very good way for people to practice and get better with their ball handling.

When I played, it had me sweating and tired. Doubling as a game and workout, it helps stimulate the mind and body. Quite unbelievably really what some of the stuff people can do with a ball. And the great part about it is, it's never too late to pick one up and get to bouncing. The soundtrack has plenty of selection for a good bounce rhythm, but if I hear "Party Rock" by LMFAO one more time, I'm throwing the whole game out of the window.



The only thing I question is: What if you don't have the space or right floor surface in your house to play? Parents are going to have some fantastic nights when little Johnny is dribbling away at midnight. The cool part, though, is that the official Spalding ball comes with the game, no extra charge, so maybe Johnny's parents will just send him down the street to the park for some live hoops. (Speaking of which, side note, I asked Deron Williams if he would come to the Warriors, just as a joke. His reply, "Hell naw." My poor Golden State team, we'll never have any all-stars.)

But all in all, the concept of NBA Baller Beats is new and refreshing. I'm sure it will do well when released some time in September 2012.
Tags:   E3, Majesco, Kinect



comments powered by Disqus


More information about NBA Baller Beats


More On GameRevolution