More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

New Super Mario Bros. 2 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/13/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platforming 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo EAD 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Gotta get those coins.


When Nintendo revealed New Super Mario Bros. 2, I figured it would be a game that continued to push the great run Mario has had on Nintendo handhelds. Super Mario 3D Land felt as new and fresh as Super Mario 64, so following that title up will be no easy task.

While NSMB2 is a return to the 2D action, it's also a drastic departure from the kind of platforming action people have come to expect from the portly plumber. Instead of speeding through levels, only stopping for a mushroom or a fire flower, Mario is out for a huge cash grab.


NSMB2's big focus is on coins and comparing high scores with your friends. To that end, players can pick up the Golden Flower, a power up that turns every... single... thing... into coins.

Seriously, nearly everything in a level will turn to coins once you put the power of the Golden Flower on it. In the three levels Nintendo had on display at E3, one of them featured the Golden Flower. Once I picked it up in an underground passage, I held onto it for dear life.


NSMB2's new Coin Rush Mode is a high-score attack that pits your score against anyone you happen to connect with via Street Pass. Players can select three levels and collect as many coins as they can muster. The game will record this score and challenge other players via StreetPass to beat the high score you set on those same three levels.

Factoring in valuable golden enemies, cooperative play with Mario and Luigi, and a more familiar SMB3 Tanooki suit, there's a lot of coin to collect. NSMB2 will be available both as a download in the eShop and as a retail title on August 19th, 2012.
Tags:   E3, Nintendo, Mario, 3DS
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about New Super Mario Bros. 2