More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

New Super Mario Bros. 2 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/13/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platforming 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo EAD 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Gotta get those coins.


When Nintendo revealed New Super Mario Bros. 2, I figured it would be a game that continued to push the great run Mario has had on Nintendo handhelds. Super Mario 3D Land felt as new and fresh as Super Mario 64, so following that title up will be no easy task.

While NSMB2 is a return to the 2D action, it's also a drastic departure from the kind of platforming action people have come to expect from the portly plumber. Instead of speeding through levels, only stopping for a mushroom or a fire flower, Mario is out for a huge cash grab.


NSMB2's big focus is on coins and comparing high scores with your friends. To that end, players can pick up the Golden Flower, a power up that turns every... single... thing... into coins.

Seriously, nearly everything in a level will turn to coins once you put the power of the Golden Flower on it. In the three levels Nintendo had on display at E3, one of them featured the Golden Flower. Once I picked it up in an underground passage, I held onto it for dear life.


NSMB2's new Coin Rush Mode is a high-score attack that pits your score against anyone you happen to connect with via Street Pass. Players can select three levels and collect as many coins as they can muster. The game will record this score and challenge other players via StreetPass to beat the high score you set on those same three levels.

Factoring in valuable golden enemies, cooperative play with Mario and Luigi, and a more familiar SMB3 Tanooki suit, there's a lot of coin to collect. NSMB2 will be available both as a download in the eShop and as a retail title on August 19th, 2012.
Tags:   E3, Nintendo, Mario, 3DS
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about New Super Mario Bros. 2