More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

New Super Mario Bros. 2 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/13/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platforming 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo EAD 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Gotta get those coins.


When Nintendo revealed New Super Mario Bros. 2, I figured it would be a game that continued to push the great run Mario has had on Nintendo handhelds. Super Mario 3D Land felt as new and fresh as Super Mario 64, so following that title up will be no easy task.

While NSMB2 is a return to the 2D action, it's also a drastic departure from the kind of platforming action people have come to expect from the portly plumber. Instead of speeding through levels, only stopping for a mushroom or a fire flower, Mario is out for a huge cash grab.


NSMB2's big focus is on coins and comparing high scores with your friends. To that end, players can pick up the Golden Flower, a power up that turns every... single... thing... into coins.

Seriously, nearly everything in a level will turn to coins once you put the power of the Golden Flower on it. In the three levels Nintendo had on display at E3, one of them featured the Golden Flower. Once I picked it up in an underground passage, I held onto it for dear life.


NSMB2's new Coin Rush Mode is a high-score attack that pits your score against anyone you happen to connect with via Street Pass. Players can select three levels and collect as many coins as they can muster. The game will record this score and challenge other players via StreetPass to beat the high score you set on those same three levels.

Factoring in valuable golden enemies, cooperative play with Mario and Luigi, and a more familiar SMB3 Tanooki suit, there's a lot of coin to collect. NSMB2 will be available both as a download in the eShop and as a retail title on August 19th, 2012.
Tags:   E3, Nintendo, Mario, 3DS

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about New Super Mario Bros. 2


More On GameRevolution