More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

NHL 14 Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
04/19/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA Sports 
DEVELOPER EA Canada 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Is it time to throw down? I think so!

This year’s professional hockey season began with a lockout. For many people this meant pay cuts, less work, and even loss of jobs. For EA, they worried their beloved NHL franchise would see drops in interest. And in some areas there was a bit of a falloff. But finally terms and agreements were made and hockey was finally back. This couldn’t have come at a better time because the numbers for this NHL video game franchise went through the roof. Sales, downloads, and gameplay skyrocketed like never before.

That was for NHL 13. NHL 14 looks to be even better, possibly the best ever. Many of the flaws from past editions seem to have been corrected and this newest installment will have the coolest features combined into one game. My biggest gripe has been that the hits in NHL 13 weren’t as consistent as I wanted them to be. Fear no longer, because hits and player contact for NHL 14 has taken a huge leap forward. Before, when it came to hits, we would see animations like guys being checked at the shoulder but taking the force as if being bulldozed through the chest.



The worst was when you lined up an opponent perfectly for a major collision, only to hitstick him for no effect what so ever. Not this yearas this time around, your brutish mentality will be rewarded. Using the right analog will still be the main punishment tool. But now, depending on your player’s size and attributes, you can simply skate at opponents using left analog and bring them down with authority.

Contact between players doesn’t stop at big body checks but rolls over to fighting as well. In the past, when a fight was initiated, we would see no one around them and the guys stand at the same height, even if they weren’t in their ratings, and see them duke it out in what seems like an always fair fight. Not anymore; if a 6’4" wingman gets into it with a 5’8" defenseman, the animation will show the difference, not only in height but in toughness too. Adding more touches of realness, teammates will now be standing around, in audience, as you lay fisticuffs to some bruiser.



A few other little features have been added or tweaked for the betterment of the game, such as one-touch dekes and defensive strafing. One-touch dekes are the same from last year except now it’s possible to perform them with just a two-button combination instead of the old three-button confusing setup. With strafing, you will notice defenders having a much smoother and efficient way of blocking clear lanes.

It’s all about the hockey trifecta “aggression, speed, and skill” in perfect harmony. So strafe, deke, hit, and fight your way to victory later on in the year, when NHL 14 skates into town on Xbox 360 and PS3.
More GR previews for this game:
NHL 14 preview posted on 04/19/13.
Tags:   EA Sports, EA Canada

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about NHL 14