More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Nom Nom Galaxy Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
04/23/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Q-Games 
DEVELOPER Q-Games 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

OK, soup for everybody!

What if, and I’m not saying this is actually possible, but what if the Soup Nazi was not such an angry dictator and was more of a benevolent space-faring chef. You might say he’d lose all the charm of a hilarious one-off Seinfeld character, but your stomach might also give a hungry gurgle at the thought of delicious soup. Either way, Q-Games wants to give you a shot at becoming your own soup baron but in spaaaaaace.

That’s the premise of Nom Nom Galaxy, a new Steam Early Access game available for purchase and play now from the developers of Pixeljunk Shooter 2 and more beloved PlayStation downloadables. While we’ve had access to Nom Nom Galaxy for a while, the soup race took some getting used to, but if you’re willing to take the plunge on this title while it’s still in development, you’ll already find some addicting gameplay loops and a ton of charm.



That’s what Q-Games is largely known for, at least to me. The Pixeljunk titles have remained inventive, quirky, and sublime for the senses. Nom Nom Galaxy is no different and right off the bat I was enchanted by the game’s background music as it matched the action on screen and moved with the menus and the day-night cycle you’ll have to plan your recipes around. First, you’ll have to understand how your base of operations works.

Like Terraria, Nom Nom Galaxy is laid out in a 2D field where you’ll dig, mine, and harvest ingredients for your soups. Your base sits in the middle of a lot of natural land and provides two stations for making soup and a rocket that launches your soup into space. The ultimate goal is to “crush our eternal rivals, MEGA-SOUP Inc.!” Your boss informs you by radio communication that “only by taking 100% of the market can we force them off our planets.” That may have been a bit too much pressure for me, but competition does provide an impetus for learning the game's mechanics as quickly as possible in the same way Minecraft's day-night cycle and creepers encourage you to build a house as soon as you start a new world.

In the beginning, MEGA-SOUP is established and gets a head start as you struggle to keep up with new elements introduced in each round. First, you’ll have to figure out which ingredients to gather and how to put them into the machine for processing. All of the game’s more intricate controls pop up as you near interactive objects, but you’ll use your mouse to wield a giant buzz saw that can cut down ingredients, drill through the sediment, and fight off enemies.



Soon, you’ll want to start upgrading your base to ward off invading enemies. I didn’t get very far into the game, but I did make some delicious sunflower stew. Back the f*** off my stew, aliens! The graphics have a vibrant minimalism about them and the music blends electronic and rock to great effect, even as you crawl out of your base, begin to mine, place ladders to climb out of holes, and return to refill your oxygen tank or stir up a new batch of soup. If you get an alert, the annoying GSM cell phone static plays before your message arrives which is a funny touch. "Can you hear me now? Great, because I'm in space."

The Soup Co. Remote Statt Office allows you to purchase upgrades like a robot that’ll toss ingredients through a deep mine shaft or a missile tower that can blast enemies, but my favorite item was the Hover Board 3000 which lets you “glide effortlessly across alien worlds.” Just don’t spill the soup!

Nom Nom Galaxy has been in development for a while and up to four-player co-op is planned, but you could do far worse in the realm of early access games on Valve’s Steam platform. For more, check out the game's Steam page where you can learn more about the mechanics, the future of development, and purchase the game for $19.99.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Nom Nom Galaxy