More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Operation Flashpoint: Red River Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
04/08/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Codemasters 
DEVELOPER Codemasters 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Can't we all just get along?


If you've kept track of the games I've covered in the past, you might notice that I don't follow first-person shooters often. I enjoy the single-player campaigns if they're done well, but I generally don't care enough about multiplayer fragfests to get into them much. One thing I can say, though, is that if there were more multiplayer co-op campaigns in the genre, I might be compelled to play them more.

click to enlargeThat's why Operation Flashpoint: Red River is a breath of fresh air for guys like me. Amidst Call of Duty, Medal of Honor, Crysis, Bulletstorm, and a dozen other high-profile games with big guns and guys with biceps the size of Massachusetts, co-op tends to take a backseat. Of course, that's not to say that co-op multiplayer doesn't exist, but only a few series approach it with the polish and detail of Operation Flashpoint.

The upcoming Red River installment puts you in the shoes of a U.S. Marine in the not-too-distant future of 2013. A mission to quell a minor civil war in Tajikistan turns into an international conflict with the People's Liberation Army of China. Going around and gunning down Chinese might draw some racial tension, but I doubt it'll be a big deal following the release of that other game where you shoot lots and lots of Asians.

Throughout the demo level I was shown, I was repeatedly impressed by the intricacies of the team-based play – and that includes both enemies and players. The enemy AI is excellent, utilizing both physical cover and the cover of their squad-mates' fire to flank around or run to good sniping positions.

click to enlargeYou have three buddies to help you out on your side too, which are controlled either by the same capable AI or real live humans in a seamless drop-in, drop-out basis. The several classes all have notable differences, and a good selection of soldiers will help your chances of completing the missions. I favor the scout, which is the standard sniper, but I wouldn't be able to do that job effectively if my team didn't consist of a rifleman to lay down support fire and a heavy assault infantry to run in and distract the bad guys with some loud and scary weaponry.

Realism is an emphasis in the combat, save for the respawns when you're not playing on hard difficulty. A single shot can either kill you or make you bleed out. If you start bleeding, you'll need to find a safe spot to bandage up for a while or you won't make it. A teammate can resuscitate you if you're incapacitated from a wound, but they'll have to clear the area of the immediate threat or risk falling to the same enemy fire that brought you down. Sometimes the only prudent thing is to let your friends go.

Operation Flashpoint: Red River doesn't feature competitive multiplayer, but it compensates for that by providing a detailed campaign designed with co-op first and foremost in mind. If you're starting to tire of deathmatches and capture-the-flags, you'll want to check it out later this year.
More GR previews for this game:
Operation Flashpoint: Red River preview posted on 04/08/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Operation Flashpoint: Red River