More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity 3.0 Review
Disney Infinity 3.0 offers the first real taste of new Star Wars gaming content since the franchise was purchased by the Disney Corporation. This begs the question: Is it Han Sololicious? Or Jar Jar Bombad?

Lara Croft GO Review
Everyone’s favorite spunky spelunker goes retro for her new adventure on mobile devices. Does this blast from the past offer enough variety to stand on its own?
More Previews
PREVIEWS YIIK: A Postmodern RPG Preview
What if there was a modern day EarthBound game? YIIK attempts to answer the question.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: 09/01/15

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Operation Flashpoint: Red River Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
04/08/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Codemasters 
DEVELOPER Codemasters 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Can't we all just get along?


If you've kept track of the games I've covered in the past, you might notice that I don't follow first-person shooters often. I enjoy the single-player campaigns if they're done well, but I generally don't care enough about multiplayer fragfests to get into them much. One thing I can say, though, is that if there were more multiplayer co-op campaigns in the genre, I might be compelled to play them more.

click to enlargeThat's why Operation Flashpoint: Red River is a breath of fresh air for guys like me. Amidst Call of Duty, Medal of Honor, Crysis, Bulletstorm, and a dozen other high-profile games with big guns and guys with biceps the size of Massachusetts, co-op tends to take a backseat. Of course, that's not to say that co-op multiplayer doesn't exist, but only a few series approach it with the polish and detail of Operation Flashpoint.

The upcoming Red River installment puts you in the shoes of a U.S. Marine in the not-too-distant future of 2013. A mission to quell a minor civil war in Tajikistan turns into an international conflict with the People's Liberation Army of China. Going around and gunning down Chinese might draw some racial tension, but I doubt it'll be a big deal following the release of that other game where you shoot lots and lots of Asians.

Throughout the demo level I was shown, I was repeatedly impressed by the intricacies of the team-based play – and that includes both enemies and players. The enemy AI is excellent, utilizing both physical cover and the cover of their squad-mates' fire to flank around or run to good sniping positions.

click to enlargeYou have three buddies to help you out on your side too, which are controlled either by the same capable AI or real live humans in a seamless drop-in, drop-out basis. The several classes all have notable differences, and a good selection of soldiers will help your chances of completing the missions. I favor the scout, which is the standard sniper, but I wouldn't be able to do that job effectively if my team didn't consist of a rifleman to lay down support fire and a heavy assault infantry to run in and distract the bad guys with some loud and scary weaponry.

Realism is an emphasis in the combat, save for the respawns when you're not playing on hard difficulty. A single shot can either kill you or make you bleed out. If you start bleeding, you'll need to find a safe spot to bandage up for a while or you won't make it. A teammate can resuscitate you if you're incapacitated from a wound, but they'll have to clear the area of the immediate threat or risk falling to the same enemy fire that brought you down. Sometimes the only prudent thing is to let your friends go.

Operation Flashpoint: Red River doesn't feature competitive multiplayer, but it compensates for that by providing a detailed campaign designed with co-op first and foremost in mind. If you're starting to tire of deathmatches and capture-the-flags, you'll want to check it out later this year.
More GR previews for this game:
Operation Flashpoint: Red River preview posted on 04/08/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Operation Flashpoint: Red River


More On GameRevolution