More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Operation Flashpoint: Red River Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
04/08/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Codemasters 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Can't we all just get along?


If you've kept track of the games I've covered in the past, you might notice that I don't follow first-person shooters often. I enjoy the single-player campaigns if they're done well, but I generally don't care enough about multiplayer fragfests to get into them much. One thing I can say, though, is that if there were more multiplayer co-op campaigns in the genre, I might be compelled to play them more.

click to enlargeThat's why Operation Flashpoint: Red River is a breath of fresh air for guys like me. Amidst Call of Duty, Medal of Honor, Crysis, Bulletstorm, and a dozen other high-profile games with big guns and guys with biceps the size of Massachusetts, co-op tends to take a backseat. Of course, that's not to say that co-op multiplayer doesn't exist, but only a few series approach it with the polish and detail of Operation Flashpoint.

The upcoming Red River installment puts you in the shoes of a U.S. Marine in the not-too-distant future of 2013. A mission to quell a minor civil war in Tajikistan turns into an international conflict with the People's Liberation Army of China. Going around and gunning down Chinese might draw some racial tension, but I doubt it'll be a big deal following the release of that other game where you shoot lots and lots of Asians.

Throughout the demo level I was shown, I was repeatedly impressed by the intricacies of the team-based play – and that includes both enemies and players. The enemy AI is excellent, utilizing both physical cover and the cover of their squad-mates' fire to flank around or run to good sniping positions.

click to enlargeYou have three buddies to help you out on your side too, which are controlled either by the same capable AI or real live humans in a seamless drop-in, drop-out basis. The several classes all have notable differences, and a good selection of soldiers will help your chances of completing the missions. I favor the scout, which is the standard sniper, but I wouldn't be able to do that job effectively if my team didn't consist of a rifleman to lay down support fire and a heavy assault infantry to run in and distract the bad guys with some loud and scary weaponry.

Realism is an emphasis in the combat, save for the respawns when you're not playing on hard difficulty. A single shot can either kill you or make you bleed out. If you start bleeding, you'll need to find a safe spot to bandage up for a while or you won't make it. A teammate can resuscitate you if you're incapacitated from a wound, but they'll have to clear the area of the immediate threat or risk falling to the same enemy fire that brought you down. Sometimes the only prudent thing is to let your friends go.

Operation Flashpoint: Red River doesn't feature competitive multiplayer, but it compensates for that by providing a detailed campaign designed with co-op first and foremost in mind. If you're starting to tire of deathmatches and capture-the-flags, you'll want to check it later this year.
More GR previews for this game:
Operation Flashpoint: Red River preview posted on 04/08/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Operation Flashpoint: Red River


More On GameRevolution