More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Orgarhythm Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
05/04/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm / Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER XSeed 
DEVELOPER Acquire 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Suggestive Themes, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Once more with rhythm!


When I first read the title "Orgarhythm", I had no idea how to pronounce it.  When I first heard it pronounced, I got a few ideas, but I didn't get the full picture until I actually picked up the Vita and started going at it. And y'know what?  It plays how it appears: intriguing and slightly confusing.

The play is akin to mixing Patapon with a wide-open overhead view in an RTS setting: You control the armies surrounding a war-marching God of Light, charged with defending him against attacking soldiers. Three different soldier types are at your beck-and-call to toss at the invading armies, controlling fire, water, and… uhh… yellow.  I dunno what the yellow guys do, but they inflict a lot of damage on their own. Choosing the right element (or color) can do mucho-damage, like Rock-Paper-Scissors with tiny doods.



Play is entirely performed on the front touchscreen (nope, nothing to utilize the back touch pad), and tapping the right key at the right time powers up attacks and levels up your micro-fleet.  Tapping the middle readies your little friends for battle, and from there you pick the fleet and the type of attack. According to the info given to me, the AI will even remember how you played previous campaigns and adapt to your play style, so the same stages can be played multiple times without having the same exact experience twice.

There's even online multiplayer! I can understand how a co-op mode will workmaybe two players protecting the same God of Lightbut there's also a versus mode to pit two people against each other. Since the stages are on a sort of track I don't know just how it will work in the end (might focus more on the rhythm than the battle) but that's just speculation at this point.



With songs to be released via DLC (and aspiring musicians able to submit their work for review… or make the devs laugh at their attempts, either one) and how it plays now, it looks like a good package to look forward to this summer. The God of Light shines upon thee!
Tags:   Xseed Games, PS Vita

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Orgarhythm


More On GameRevolution