More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Orgarhythm Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
05/04/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm / Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER XSeed 
DEVELOPER Acquire 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Suggestive Themes, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Once more with rhythm!


When I first read the title "Orgarhythm", I had no idea how to pronounce it.  When I first heard it pronounced, I got a few ideas, but I didn't get the full picture until I actually picked up the Vita and started going at it. And y'know what?  It plays how it appears: intriguing and slightly confusing.

The play is akin to mixing Patapon with a wide-open overhead view in an RTS setting: You control the armies surrounding a war-marching God of Light, charged with defending him against attacking soldiers. Three different soldier types are at your beck-and-call to toss at the invading armies, controlling fire, water, and… uhh… yellow.  I dunno what the yellow guys do, but they inflict a lot of damage on their own. Choosing the right element (or color) can do mucho-damage, like Rock-Paper-Scissors with tiny doods.



Play is entirely performed on the front touchscreen (nope, nothing to utilize the back touch pad), and tapping the right key at the right time powers up attacks and levels up your micro-fleet.  Tapping the middle readies your little friends for battle, and from there you pick the fleet and the type of attack. According to the info given to me, the AI will even remember how you played previous campaigns and adapt to your play style, so the same stages can be played multiple times without having the same exact experience twice.

There's even online multiplayer! I can understand how a co-op mode will workmaybe two players protecting the same God of Lightbut there's also a versus mode to pit two people against each other. Since the stages are on a sort of track I don't know just how it will work in the end (might focus more on the rhythm than the battle) but that's just speculation at this point.



With songs to be released via DLC (and aspiring musicians able to submit their work for review… or make the devs laugh at their attempts, either one) and how it plays now, it looks like a good package to look forward to this summer. The God of Light shines upon thee!
Tags:   Xseed Games, PS Vita

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Orgarhythm