More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/13/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Atlus 
DEVELOPER Arc System Works 
RELEASE DATE 09/30/2014
T Contains Language, Mild Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Midnight Channel is always good for a fight.

Like seemingly every fighting game franchise available in the past ten years, Persona 4 Arena is getting an upgrade. A few days after the first P-1 tournament (the tourney from the original title), some of the crew from Persona 3 were sucked into the Midnight Channel and forced to fight as well.  The title is a little misleading since it's doesn't look like a sequel, but it really is, honest!



The biggest difference is the character roster with some neat-o additions. Mitsuru and Akihiko are there, but this time there are a few friendly faces from their past; Yukari, Junpei, and Ken from Persona 3 make their debut with specialized weaponry in tow. They also bring their Personas to the fight with them, along with Ken's canine Koromaru (also from P3) for some combative backup. On top of that, Rise Kujikawa—the announcer of the fights—is now a playable idol. It's awkward to know that she's actively doing commentary for her own fights including commentary in support of her opponent, but it makes for some funny interactions like she's arguing with herself.

Also, there's a new character to the franchise named Sho Minazuki, who is actually two characters: one with a Persona and a super-aggro non-summoner incarnation. He wields two katanas and is one of the easiest to pick up and play of the crew, followed by Ken with Koromaru—who has his own stamina bar—while the others definitely cater to a distinct play style that may or may not turn off some more general players. With someone who can really take advantage of a fighter like, say, Yukari the visual madness is intoxicating to watch.



One can never go wrong with having the option to control more characters (no matter your thoughts on King of Fighters and its "let's shove in as many as possible" mentality) so this can only work in favor of more interesting fighting depth to a franchise that, in theory, shouldn't have transferred over to this genre nearly as well as it has. We can explore the fist-to-fist depths of Persona 4 Arena Ultimax on September 30th of this year.

Tags:   E3, Atlus

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Persona 4 Arena Ultimax


More On GameRevolution