More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
09/03/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Violence, Blood, Suggestive Themes, Language

What do these ratings mean?

No objections here.

My interest in Phoenix Wright has experienced a resurgence of late due to my watching the Japanese live action Phoenix Wright motion picture, which is by far the best video game-based movie I've ever seen. The dramedy caught me completely off-guard, despite my knowing what happens in the first game in the series, which is perfect because I haven't cared about a Phoenix Wright title since Apollo Justice. Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies aims to change that with the shine of a pointed finger.

This installment has Phoenix Wright return to the courtroom after a brief hiatus to defend a shy girl named Juniper Woods who, as the introductory scene shows, has been framed for a bombing in the very same courtroom that occurred but a week ago. Though he has been mocked as "Phoenix Van Wrinkle" by the prosecution and has what the judge calls an infamous reputation for "wild accusations and unabashed bluffing," Phoenix has the experience and the power of objections on his side. However, the prosecution has seemingly damning evidence on the defendant: The elephant stuffed animal that hid the bomb belongs to Ms. Woods and its tail found at the scene of the crime has her fingerprints.


With the seemingly clean testimony of the real criminal, TED DONATE, and the weak-willed testimony of Juniper Woods, Phoenix realizes that he doesn't have any openings to reveal the truth. Luckily, he's brought in his new assistant, Athena Cykes, a bright, over-competitive young lawyer who has the ability to use analytical psychology and discern Juniper's emotions. This allows Phoenix to pinpoint conflicting emotions in her words; in particular, her "happiness" when the rubble from the explosion began falling on her.

By pressing Juniper further with this newfound information, it's revealed that her joy stems from Apollo Justice being there to rescue her, which draws out additional testimony. Eventually, as Athena continues to provide insight, Phoenix uncovers that the stuffed animal Juniper owned, Bum Rap Rhiny, wasn't the same stuffed animal, Phong Phanty, that hid the bomb. This new development turns the entire case around.


Paired with this courtroom demo was an investigation demo showing several new features while searching for evidence in the field. Apollo Justice and Athena Cykes explore Nine-Tails Vale, a town within a forest valley known for "yokoi" demons, and race toward the hotel Phoenix is staying at when he mysteriously cuts off during a phone call. Visiting the room, they discover a table covered in blood, several feathers, and Phoenix's attorney badge behind the door. By rotating the scene around, other notes and evidence seems to indicate that he indeed captured by a yokoi demon, but Phoenix suddenly returns to the room and explains his disappearance: He was chasing a rampant giant turkey! (Geez...) Well, at least you won't be missing out on the game's kooky ridiculousness.

Capcom doesn't have much in its release schedule for this holiday schedule, so be sure to check out Phoenix Wright: Dual Destinies when it releases later this year exclusively for Nintendo 3DS.
Tags:   Capcom, 3DS, Nintendo, PAX
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies


More On GameRevolution