More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Pikmin 3 Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

There's nothing like fresh Bulborb meat.


Ah, Pikmin. Shigeru Miyamoto's baby. One of his many babies, of course (the man gets around a lot), but deserving of just as much love as your Marios and your Donkey Kongs. What better way to usher in a new Nintendo console?



While the first Pikmin was innovative as hell, the sequel followed the same formula very closely, and from what I've seen at E3, this one does the same. You still have a cadre of Pikmin (not to be confused with pokemans) that follow you around and do your bidding with no regard whatsoever for their own fragile lives. You're still limited to a day's time to gather supplies for fuel and toss your colorful little soldiers at all the Bulborbs you can handle.

But the formula is still addictive and unlike any other game out there, so why mess with a good thing? Pikmin 3 does introduce some new Pikmin species, however, the first of which was integral to success in the demo. Rock Pikmin, which look more like walking pebbles with the obligatory flower on their heads than the Pikmin we all know and love, cause high initial damage when thrown and also smash hard substances like crystal. The catch is that they're too heavy to latch onto objects for continuous damage like their smaller counterparts.



The Rock Pikmins' usefulness was easily apparent in a boss battle against a giant armored centipede. It took many Rocks chucked at the boss' armored shell to crack open segments revealing the soft meat underneath. At that point, it was more effective to switch to good old Red Pikmin to swarm the creature's exposed back and pound it with their tiny fists.

The controls felt comfortable and intuitive with the trusty Wii Remote, while the Wii U tablet was relegated to a simple map viewer for demo purposes. I was assured, however, that the final game will fully support tablet control as well. I can't really see how it would be an improvement over the point-'n'-click nature of the Remote, but only time will tell.

Olimar is conspicuously absent, but there are more than enough new playable characters that the Pikmin will have no shortage of whistling, domineering dictators when the sequel lands on Wii U.
More GR previews for this game:
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 06/18/13.
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 07/10/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Pikmin 3