More Reviews
REVIEWS Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Rebor Review
Just a small update to the existing review for the PS4 version of the game. What are the benefits to upgrading? Check here to see. ~Ed. Nick Tan

Cut the Rope: Triple Treat Review
Cutting the ropes has never before made gravity so… pricey.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Sniper Elite 3 Preview
Sending bullets through the hate.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Release date: 04/29/14

Bound by Flame
Release date: 05/09/14

Wolfenstein: The New Order
Release date: 05/20/14

Drakengard 3
Release date: 05/21/14


LATEST FEATURES The Gaming Charities at PAX East 2014
Pause your game and make a difference. Gamers can go beyond player two by helping many others with these charities.

4 PAX Indie Titles to Look Out For
We've given attention to all the higher profile games at PAX EAST, but now it's time for the indies.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
So much more than war...
By shandog137
Posted on 04/18/14
The recent blog, Peace in the Era of Call of Duty  really made me think about war games that dig deeper than simply a kill streak reward. The first game that came to mind was Spec-Ops: The Line and although I haven’t played it, I began to wonder if it did the war genre as...

Pikmin 3 Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

There's nothing like fresh Bulborb meat.


Ah, Pikmin. Shigeru Miyamoto's baby. One of his many babies, of course (the man gets around a lot), but deserving of just as much love as your Marios and your Donkey Kongs. What better way to usher in a new Nintendo console?



While the first Pikmin was innovative as hell, the sequel followed the same formula very closely, and from what I've seen at E3, this one does the same. You still have a cadre of Pikmin (not to be confused with pokemans) that follow you around and do your bidding with no regard whatsoever for their own fragile lives. You're still limited to a day's time to gather supplies for fuel and toss your colorful little soldiers at all the Bulborbs you can handle.

But the formula is still addictive and unlike any other game out there, so why mess with a good thing? Pikmin 3 does introduce some new Pikmin species, however, the first of which was integral to success in the demo. Rock Pikmin, which look more like walking pebbles with the obligatory flower on their heads than the Pikmin we all know and love, cause high initial damage when thrown and also smash hard substances like crystal. The catch is that they're too heavy to latch onto objects for continuous damage like their smaller counterparts.



The Rock Pikmins' usefulness was easily apparent in a boss battle against a giant armored centipede. It took many Rocks chucked at the boss' armored shell to crack open segments revealing the soft meat underneath. At that point, it was more effective to switch to good old Red Pikmin to swarm the creature's exposed back and pound it with their tiny fists.

The controls felt comfortable and intuitive with the trusty Wii Remote, while the Wii U tablet was relegated to a simple map viewer for demo purposes. I was assured, however, that the final game will fully support tablet control as well. I can't really see how it would be an improvement over the point-'n'-click nature of the Remote, but only time will tell.

Olimar is conspicuously absent, but there are more than enough new playable characters that the Pikmin will have no shortage of whistling, domineering dictators when the sequel lands on Wii U.
More GR previews for this game:
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 07/10/13.
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 06/18/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Pikmin 3


More On GameRevolution