More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Pikmin 3 Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

There's nothing like fresh Bulborb meat.


Ah, Pikmin. Shigeru Miyamoto's baby. One of his many babies, of course (the man gets around a lot), but deserving of just as much love as your Marios and your Donkey Kongs. What better way to usher in a new Nintendo console?



While the first Pikmin was innovative as hell, the sequel followed the same formula very closely, and from what I've seen at E3, this one does the same. You still have a cadre of Pikmin (not to be confused with pokemans) that follow you around and do your bidding with no regard whatsoever for their own fragile lives. You're still limited to a day's time to gather supplies for fuel and toss your colorful little soldiers at all the Bulborbs you can handle.

But the formula is still addictive and unlike any other game out there, so why mess with a good thing? Pikmin 3 does introduce some new Pikmin species, however, the first of which was integral to success in the demo. Rock Pikmin, which look more like walking pebbles with the obligatory flower on their heads than the Pikmin we all know and love, cause high initial damage when thrown and also smash hard substances like crystal. The catch is that they're too heavy to latch onto objects for continuous damage like their smaller counterparts.



The Rock Pikmins' usefulness was easily apparent in a boss battle against a giant armored centipede. It took many Rocks chucked at the boss' armored shell to crack open segments revealing the soft meat underneath. At that point, it was more effective to switch to good old Red Pikmin to swarm the creature's exposed back and pound it with their tiny fists.

The controls felt comfortable and intuitive with the trusty Wii Remote, while the Wii U tablet was relegated to a simple map viewer for demo purposes. I was assured, however, that the final game will fully support tablet control as well. I can't really see how it would be an improvement over the point-'n'-click nature of the Remote, but only time will tell.

Olimar is conspicuously absent, but there are more than enough new playable characters that the Pikmin will have no shortage of whistling, domineering dictators when the sequel lands on Wii U.
More GR previews for this game:
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 06/18/13.
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 07/10/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Pikmin 3