More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Pikmin 3 Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

It's amazing how game companies can get us interested in gardening...

Nintendo may not be known for their strategy titles, but I've always enjoyed me some Pikmin. And thankfully—finally—a new Pikmin game is seeing the light of day. Huzzah! More cute and cuddly plant life to throw mercilessly into the jaws of a massive bug-plant-beast things! How glorious!



For the Wii U, Nintendo's giving us Pikmin 3, the action/strategy game that features that short, rotund little man in a spacesuit named Olimar who's crash-landed on a planet filled with lemming-ish plant life and massive monsters. This time around there are some new Pikmin types, like the Rock and Flying types, with specific special skills—the Flying ones can go over some barriers while the Rock ones are resistant to getting beat up by brute force—to go along with the more standard yellow, red and blue.

The enemies in the demo were all familiar, so it looks like this has been approached with a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" mentality. But with how unique Pikmin is in the grand Nintendo lineup—and that we haven't seen a "new" entry in the series since '04—this looks like a damn fun time.



Multiplayer isn't new to Pikmin, but it looks to have been expanded here with a co-op high-scoring campaign, five big worlds to explore and scour for parts in, and something called a "Bingo Battle" for two-player competitive play. I didn't get to use (nor did I see anyone else using) the Wii U tablet, so it's unclear just how it will work. It might be as easy as showing a map of the world or planting Pikmin in certain areas for a faster route through the world, but in time we'll know.

Nintendo's round little space man will land in the US on August 4th and internationally in mid-July.
More GR previews for this game:
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 06/07/12.
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 07/10/13.
Tags:   E3, Pikmin 3, Nintendo, Wii U

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Pikmin 3


More On GameRevolution