More Reviews
REVIEWS Tearaway Unfolded Review
Does the PS4 version offer worthwhile new features or are they paper thin?

Mario Maker Review
Nintendo puts Mario's fate in the hands of players in Super Mario Maker, and the result is one of the best games of the year.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Supernova Preview
Primal Game Studios has tuned Supernova since last I saw it, with more commanders, special abilities, and a faster pace.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: Out Now

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Pikmin 3 Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

It's amazing how game companies can get us interested in gardening...

Nintendo may not be known for their strategy titles, but I've always enjoyed me some Pikmin. And thankfully—finally—a new Pikmin game is seeing the light of day. Huzzah! More cute and cuddly plant life to throw mercilessly into the jaws of a massive bug-plant-beast things! How glorious!



For the Wii U, Nintendo's giving us Pikmin 3, the action/strategy game that features that short, rotund little man in a spacesuit named Olimar who's crash-landed on a planet filled with lemming-ish plant life and massive monsters. This time around there are some new Pikmin types, like the Rock and Flying types, with specific special skills—the Flying ones can go over some barriers while the Rock ones are resistant to getting beat up by brute force—to go along with the more standard yellow, red and blue.

The enemies in the demo were all familiar, so it looks like this has been approached with a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" mentality. But with how unique Pikmin is in the grand Nintendo lineup—and that we haven't seen a "new" entry in the series since '04—this looks like a damn fun time.



Multiplayer isn't new to Pikmin, but it looks to have been expanded here with a co-op high-scoring campaign, five big worlds to explore and scour for parts in, and something called a "Bingo Battle" for two-player competitive play. I didn't get to use (nor did I see anyone else using) the Wii U tablet, so it's unclear just how it will work. It might be as easy as showing a map of the world or planting Pikmin in certain areas for a faster route through the world, but in time we'll know.

Nintendo's round little space man will land in the US on August 4th and internationally in mid-July.
More GR previews for this game:
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 06/07/12.
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 07/10/13.
Tags:   E3, Pikmin 3, Nintendo, Wii U

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Pikmin 3


More On GameRevolution