More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: Out Now

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, or Die February 2015: Game of Thrones, Evolve, Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask 3D
We've gotten hands-on time with some of 2015's Valentines and episodes, but we need to make judgments!

Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Pikmin 3 Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

It's amazing how game companies can get us interested in gardening...

Nintendo may not be known for their strategy titles, but I've always enjoyed me some Pikmin. And thankfully—finally—a new Pikmin game is seeing the light of day. Huzzah! More cute and cuddly plant life to throw mercilessly into the jaws of a massive bug-plant-beast things! How glorious!



For the Wii U, Nintendo's giving us Pikmin 3, the action/strategy game that features that short, rotund little man in a spacesuit named Olimar who's crash-landed on a planet filled with lemming-ish plant life and massive monsters. This time around there are some new Pikmin types, like the Rock and Flying types, with specific special skills—the Flying ones can go over some barriers while the Rock ones are resistant to getting beat up by brute force—to go along with the more standard yellow, red and blue.

The enemies in the demo were all familiar, so it looks like this has been approached with a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" mentality. But with how unique Pikmin is in the grand Nintendo lineup—and that we haven't seen a "new" entry in the series since '04—this looks like a damn fun time.



Multiplayer isn't new to Pikmin, but it looks to have been expanded here with a co-op high-scoring campaign, five big worlds to explore and scour for parts in, and something called a "Bingo Battle" for two-player competitive play. I didn't get to use (nor did I see anyone else using) the Wii U tablet, so it's unclear just how it will work. It might be as easy as showing a map of the world or planting Pikmin in certain areas for a faster route through the world, but in time we'll know.

Nintendo's round little space man will land in the US on August 4th and internationally in mid-July.
More GR previews for this game:
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 06/07/12.
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 07/10/13.
Tags:   E3, Pikmin 3, Nintendo, Wii U

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Pikmin 3