More Reviews
REVIEWS Kingston HyperX Cloud Headset Review
Kingston's newest headset delivers comfort and quality without breaking the bank.

NES Remix 2 Review
DJ Nintendo is back with yet another remix of its iconic classic NES titles. Will the DJ be asked to put it on repeat? Or should this have been lost in the shuffle?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
Don't worry, folks. Admiral Ackbar is all over this.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Release date: 04/29/14

Bound by Flame
Release date: 05/09/14

Wolfenstein: The New Order
Release date: 05/20/14

Drakengard 3
Release date: 05/21/14


LATEST FEATURES Bandai Namco's Global Gamers Day Showcase
In Las Vegas, Ryan Bates and I poured through Bandai Namco's full catalogue of titles and learn what the publisher has in store this year.

The Gaming Charities at PAX East 2014
Pause your game and make a difference. Gamers can go beyond player two by helping many others with these charities.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
So much more than war...
By shandog137
Posted on 04/18/14
The recent blog, Peace in the Era of Call of Duty  really made me think about war games that dig deeper than simply a kill streak reward. The first game that came to mind was Spec-Ops: The Line and although I haven’t played it, I began to wonder if it did the war genre as...

Pikmin 3 Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

It's amazing how game companies can get us interested in gardening...

Nintendo may not be known for their strategy titles, but I've always enjoyed me some Pikmin. And thankfully—finally—a new Pikmin game is seeing the light of day. Huzzah! More cute and cuddly plant life to throw mercilessly into the jaws of a massive bug-plant-beast things! How glorious!



For the Wii U, Nintendo's giving us Pikmin 3, the action/strategy game that features that short, rotund little man in a spacesuit named Olimar who's crash-landed on a planet filled with lemming-ish plant life and massive monsters. This time around there are some new Pikmin types, like the Rock and Flying types, with specific special skills—the Flying ones can go over some barriers while the Rock ones are resistant to getting beat up by brute force—to go along with the more standard yellow, red and blue.

The enemies in the demo were all familiar, so it looks like this has been approached with a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" mentality. But with how unique Pikmin is in the grand Nintendo lineup—and that we haven't seen a "new" entry in the series since '04—this looks like a damn fun time.



Multiplayer isn't new to Pikmin, but it looks to have been expanded here with a co-op high-scoring campaign, five big worlds to explore and scour for parts in, and something called a "Bingo Battle" for two-player competitive play. I didn't get to use (nor did I see anyone else using) the Wii U tablet, so it's unclear just how it will work. It might be as easy as showing a map of the world or planting Pikmin in certain areas for a faster route through the world, but in time we'll know.

Nintendo's round little space man will land in the US on August 4th and internationally in mid-July.
More GR previews for this game:
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 07/10/13.
Pikmin 3 preview posted on 06/07/12.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Pikmin 3


More On GameRevolution