More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

PixelJunk 4am Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Q! Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Your own personal Baiyon simulator.


When you first pick up the PlayStation Move controller to play PixelJunk 4AM, there doesn't seem to be a whole lot to do. Sure, the visualizer is flying at you and there's a nice sound coming out of your speakers, but... where do you go from here?

That's what I asked Dylan Cuthbert and Baiyon as they started their demo of the "game" at GDC 2012. Baiyon pushed the Circle button on the Move controller and then felt around the in a oval for a vibration from the controller. Once he started getting feedback, he held the trigger and pull the controller in the opposite direction.



As if he were conducting the electronic music coming from the TV with a baton, a beat in the back track came to the forefront. Hitting the triangle button and repeating the action brought a little high-hat into the mix. Suddenly, a deep house track came to life in front of my eyes and ears.

You really can't call PixelJunk 4AM a "game." Instead, the most appropriate title came from Dylan Cuthbert after I pushed the pair on how technical tools create a very experimental and artistic music experience. The developers behind 4AM at Q! Games called it an instrument you'll learn as you play.

If you've ever picked up a trumpet or a violin, you probably made god awful music that no one would want to listen to. That's kind of how I felt once I took over the controls. A quick tutorial and I started to find sounds I wanted to bring forward before switching visuals and experiement with a new mix of sounds.


More importantly, you can leave the creative aspect to others who are constantly streaming their creations to viewers on the PlayStation Network. Even better, the view-only mode will be free to everyone with a PSN account, so sit back, drop some ecstasy, and enjoy the beats and tracks from your favorite 4AM composer.

I might not feel comfortable performing for the whole world, but if I'm sitting at home, doing chores, or reading a book, loading up PixelJunk 4AM and letting a totally organic soundtrack fill the house will be a very addictive way to pass the time.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about PixelJunk 4am


More On GameRevolution