More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

PlanetSide 2 Preview

Jonathan_Leack By:
Jonathan_Leack
06/08/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action MMOFPS 
PLAYERS 1- 999 
PUBLISHER Sony Online Entertainment LLC 
DEVELOPER Sony Online Entertainment LLC 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Galactic battlefield.


The Planetside 2 live demonstration I attended was loaded with so much information that it was easy to be overwhelmed. Three factions, tons of vehicles, massive continents, and deep customization peaked my interest within minutes. Then, after heading over and playing the game for myself, it became clear that this is exactly the game that the MMO genre needs.



Upon entering the game, I noticed that I was on the Terran Republic, one of the three factions that wage war in Planetside 2. After joining a squad with the guys playing next to me, I was able to choose a class. The MAX with its massive armor suit sounded enticing, but I decided to choose the medic so I could heal while learning the ropes. It wasn’t long before I was spending faction credits on a light vehicle so I could ride into the middle of the zone where combat was taking place.

While healing a few teammates and shooting enemies in the face—or technically the helmet—I was impressed with the level of quality in the game’s engine (Forge Light Engine), not only because of its level of precision but the feedback it provided. It felt completely natural for me to aim and fire, and each time I hit an enemy I could see and hear each of my rounds eat away at enemy armor.



The best part of it all was knowing that the final game would consist of not only more zones, but also almost a dozen continents. Opening the map and zooming out revealed a massive world with seamless and constant battles inviting players to dip in and contribute to their respective faction. Since the game revolves around faction warfare, heading to major locations for your team is essential.

The customization available in the demo was an extremely small portion of what will be seen in the final release, but based upon the trailer and locked content in the demo, there will be enough to feed even a lion’s appetite. Planetside 2 is going to be a free-to-play game with a non-invasive microtransaction model so you will be sure to see a lot of vanity items for those who enjoy personalization.

Planetside 2 is releasing soon, and a beta will begin in the coming weeks. Stay tuned for more.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about PlanetSide 2


More On GameRevolution