More Reviews
REVIEWS The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.

Five Nights at Freddy's Review
So damn scary, I had to break every ten minutes just writing this review.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Legend of Raven Preview
The spirit of Street Fighter III still lives in the heart of Legend of Raven.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Madden NFL 15
Release date: Out Now

Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14


LATEST FEATURES A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!

inFamous: First Light Battle Arena Hints, Strategies, Tips [Stream Over]
Watch as I build out our feature of useful tactics for players in Sucker Punch's wave-based and arcade-awesome arena mode.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 22 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER PopCap 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Animated Blood, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Four-player third-person pea-shooting.


Zombies definitely didn’t eat the brains of the shot-callers at EA, because they had the smarts enough to take one of PopCap’s most successful franchises and expand into a next gen third-person action shooter, but keeping all of the aspects of what made the original so darn fun in the first place. These Plants are pissed, but they’re so damn cute. Don’t be fooled by their appearance, though, they’re ready for Garden Warfare.



Zombies still attack in waves, but now they’re much faster, and spread around a hectic battlefield. The Plants, which have now sprouted “legs” that let them run freely are equipped with the same sort of weaponry as before, but slightly altered for the war at hand. The few Plant options not suited for mobility—like potato mines—are used as special attacks. All of the Zombie classes are back, but I’m sure there are a few surprises. Bosses are big, mean, and they deal damage fast and demand a lot of teamwork and firepower to bring down.

The action is frantic, fun, and features co-operative multiplayer for the campaign with up to four plant players. It’s designed in such a way that it’ll instantly be familiar to Plants vs. Zombies fans, but accessible to anyone who has ever played a shooter game.



What really got me, though, was the look of the game. The Plants had a Pixar-esque shimmer to them, and their movement appeared firm and fibrous, but with a slight squishy-ness. If anything, I’d go as far to say that it’s EA’s best-looking game using the Frostbite engine yet. Movement was incredibly fast and fluid. Battlefields were filled with obstructions in the form of graves, hills, coffins, and more, adding to the Zombie chaos.

When I first had heard that Plants vs. Zombies may end up being turned into a shooter, I scoffed at the idea. But that Crazy Dave ain’t so crazy after all, because this harebrained spin-off earned one of our Best of E3 awards. We’ll have more on Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare before it releases in Spring 2014 on Xbox 360 and Xbox One. We suspect it'll be available for PS3 and PS4 eventually, but EA was tight-lipped on the subject.
More GR previews for this game:
Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare preview posted on 01/27/14.
Hands-on November 2013 posted on 11/21/13.
Tags:   E3

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare


More On GameRevolution