More Reviews
REVIEWS Yorbie - Episode 1: Payback's A Review
You've heard of the phrase “phoned in"? Well, this game is so bad that it must have been “texted in.”

BOXBOY! Review
What does the box say? Nothing. And it's gloriously addictive.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Dirty Bomb Preview
Looking for a more competitive, challenging online FPS multiplayer game? Splash Damage is introducing just that by dropping a Dirty Bomb on the free-to-play game market.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Stealth Inc 2: A Game of Clones
Release date: Out Now

Dark Souls II: Scholar of the First Sin
Release date: 04/07/15


LATEST FEATURES Captain Comic - Old Games With Grandpa Heath
Today's old game: Captain Comic.

Top 10 Games in Early Development You Should Know About
Last week we talked about Kickstarter projects, but not every new title takes that route. Here's the top 10 projects we found in their infancy. So cute!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Top 50 Pokémon of All Time
Can you believe there are now six generations of Pokémon? Six!! That's a crazy amount of different creatures to collect. But which are the cream of the crop? Don't worry, Magikarp isn't actually one of them.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
Re-Masters - Next-Gen Backwards Compatibility?
By shandog137
Posted on 03/30/15
I am a PS3 owner and someday hope to be a PS4 owner, yet I am not at all dissatisfied with my choice to delay purchase, solely based on the current PS4 library. When I transitioned from a Playstation 1 to a Playstation 2, I was pleasantly surprised that I could for the most part rid myself of my PS1...

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 22 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER PopCap 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Animated Blood, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Four-player third-person pea-shooting.


Zombies definitely didn’t eat the brains of the shot-callers at EA, because they had the smarts enough to take one of PopCap’s most successful franchises and expand into a next gen third-person action shooter, but keeping all of the aspects of what made the original so darn fun in the first place. These Plants are pissed, but they’re so damn cute. Don’t be fooled by their appearance, though, they’re ready for Garden Warfare.



Zombies still attack in waves, but now they’re much faster, and spread around a hectic battlefield. The Plants, which have now sprouted “legs” that let them run freely are equipped with the same sort of weaponry as before, but slightly altered for the war at hand. The few Plant options not suited for mobility—like potato mines—are used as special attacks. All of the Zombie classes are back, but I’m sure there are a few surprises. Bosses are big, mean, and they deal damage fast and demand a lot of teamwork and firepower to bring down.

The action is frantic, fun, and features co-operative multiplayer for the campaign with up to four plant players. It’s designed in such a way that it’ll instantly be familiar to Plants vs. Zombies fans, but accessible to anyone who has ever played a shooter game.



What really got me, though, was the look of the game. The Plants had a Pixar-esque shimmer to them, and their movement appeared firm and fibrous, but with a slight squishy-ness. If anything, I’d go as far to say that it’s EA’s best-looking game using the Frostbite engine yet. Movement was incredibly fast and fluid. Battlefields were filled with obstructions in the form of graves, hills, coffins, and more, adding to the Zombie chaos.

When I first had heard that Plants vs. Zombies may end up being turned into a shooter, I scoffed at the idea. But that Crazy Dave ain’t so crazy after all, because this harebrained spin-off earned one of our Best of E3 awards. We’ll have more on Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare before it releases in Spring 2014 on Xbox 360 and Xbox One. We suspect it'll be available for PS3 and PS4 eventually, but EA was tight-lipped on the subject.
More GR previews for this game:
Hands-on November 2013 posted on 11/21/13.
Hands-on November 2013 posted on 11/21/13.
Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare preview posted on 01/27/14.
Tags:   E3
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare


More On GameRevolution