More Reviews
REVIEWS Boss! Review
PlayStation Vita owners looking to exercise a little frustration can look to this rather low-fi title about creating a monster and destroying everything in your path.

KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.5 ReMIX Review
Part 2 of Square-Enix and Disney's cooperative compilation cash-cow is ready to milk the series for another go, but does the milk taste sweet or is it spoiled?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: Out Now

Kalimba
Release date: Out Now

Persona 5
Release date: 12/31/14

Motorcycle Club
Release date: 01/01/15


LATEST FEATURES Downloadable Content Walks the Line Between Fun and Frenzied in Middle-earth
I don’t even care all that much for the Lords of the Rings brand, which makes the content falling under Shadow of Mordor’s Season Pass a pleasant surprise.

Ugly Christmas Sweaters for Gamers
If this awful trend is going to persist, you may as well do it your way.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP KevinS
RIP Ralph Baer (1922-2014)
By KevinS
Posted on 12/07/14
RIP Ralph Baer (1922-2014) I really, really hate writing obits. I really do. But I take it as a personal honor to be able to say good things about the men and women I respect, whether in this industry or just in my life, and Ralph Baer is the reason all of this exists in the first...

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 22 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER PopCap 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Animated Blood, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Four-player third-person pea-shooting.


Zombies definitely didn’t eat the brains of the shot-callers at EA, because they had the smarts enough to take one of PopCap’s most successful franchises and expand into a next gen third-person action shooter, but keeping all of the aspects of what made the original so darn fun in the first place. These Plants are pissed, but they’re so damn cute. Don’t be fooled by their appearance, though, they’re ready for Garden Warfare.



Zombies still attack in waves, but now they’re much faster, and spread around a hectic battlefield. The Plants, which have now sprouted “legs” that let them run freely are equipped with the same sort of weaponry as before, but slightly altered for the war at hand. The few Plant options not suited for mobility—like potato mines—are used as special attacks. All of the Zombie classes are back, but I’m sure there are a few surprises. Bosses are big, mean, and they deal damage fast and demand a lot of teamwork and firepower to bring down.

The action is frantic, fun, and features co-operative multiplayer for the campaign with up to four plant players. It’s designed in such a way that it’ll instantly be familiar to Plants vs. Zombies fans, but accessible to anyone who has ever played a shooter game.



What really got me, though, was the look of the game. The Plants had a Pixar-esque shimmer to them, and their movement appeared firm and fibrous, but with a slight squishy-ness. If anything, I’d go as far to say that it’s EA’s best-looking game using the Frostbite engine yet. Movement was incredibly fast and fluid. Battlefields were filled with obstructions in the form of graves, hills, coffins, and more, adding to the Zombie chaos.

When I first had heard that Plants vs. Zombies may end up being turned into a shooter, I scoffed at the idea. But that Crazy Dave ain’t so crazy after all, because this harebrained spin-off earned one of our Best of E3 awards. We’ll have more on Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare before it releases in Spring 2014 on Xbox 360 and Xbox One. We suspect it'll be available for PS3 and PS4 eventually, but EA was tight-lipped on the subject.
More GR previews for this game:
Hands-on November 2013 posted on 11/21/13.
Hands-on November 2013 posted on 11/21/13.
Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare preview posted on 01/27/14.
Tags:   E3
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare