More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Puppeteer Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/15/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platforming 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sony Computer Entertainment 
DEVELOPER SCE Studios Japan 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Alcohol Reference, Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Not very saucy, but still a great puppet show.

I knew absolutely nothing about Puppeteer when I was first assigned it for this preview. Going by the name I knew it had something to do with puppets (well, duh), but beyond that, I just had no idea.  This is why I feel so lucky now that I was chosen to check it out and report back, because this is the sort of thing I like: a beautiful fusion of traditional gameplay with modern execution.



The story is all about a young man who's been pulled from Earth to save the goddess of the moon.  She's been captured by evil forces (I have no idea just which ones as it was a sparse demo), and the task of recovery falls squarely on our Earthline's narrow shoulders. He has a few tools to help him along the way: a grabbling hook, some small bombs, and one big-ass pair of scissors that occasionally light on fire when used excessively. I have no idea if the burning actually affects anything, whether it's a power-up NBA Jam-style or hurts my little fella, but either way it looks amazing.

The stage I was able to play was reminiscent of the stages in Mega Man 8 and X, when X had to hop on the top of a platform on rails, avoiding objects and adversaries to reach the next section. But it was the boss battle at the end with a giant paper dragon that really set Puppeteer apart, and the strategy around cutting your way through him that appealed to me.



Everything you see in the foreground is useful, and that includes the paper clouds that spout from the fire of the dragon; it's actually the only way to avoid being burned in certain sections. There were quick-time events as well, but the platforming was as complex and intuitive as it could be. The best compliment I can give it is that every fall I took was my fault -- the controls are that good.

Puppets start dancing on September 10th of this year for PS3. And I genuinely hope Puppeteer's a good seller… I love this revival of the side-scrolling genre too much for a game this solid to go down in flames!
Tags:   PS3, Sony, E3

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Puppeteer


More On GameRevolution