More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Raskulls Preview

Chris_Hudak By:
Chris_Hudak
01/04/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing / Platform 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER XBLA 
DEVELOPER Halfbrick 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Crude Humor, Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Go, skull racer! Go, skull racer, go!


Not so long ago here at the Game Revolution compound, we had ourselves a little morning visit from Halfbrick (No, we don't know what the name means, either.) and what was supposed to be a nice, relaxed, low-pressure, multiplayer demo session for a forthcoming XBLA puzzle/platformer quickly devolved into an epithet-spitting, eye-gouging, shit-talking four-player furball for dominance and revenge. With skulls. And costumes. Including pirates. Old-school, side-scrolling good times.

click to enlargeThe deceptively, relentlessly candy-colored Raskulls could be described as a blend of Super Mario Bros. and Mr. Driller, with a multiplayer combat-race focus and simple, humorous inter-stage cinematics influenced by Japanese animation. Its colorful, easy-on-the-eyes visual style gives it a breezy, kid-friendly look, but there's more than enough going on to entice more hard-core gamers, too.

The greater Raskulls adventure element ties everything together with a handful of Mario-esque overworlds suitable for single-player gaming, but the serious gaming horsepower lies in the frantically-paced multiplayer stages. There's a lot of straightforward, old-school challenge here: As players zip through the twisting courses—for these are true races, here—they're able to use the B and X buttons to zap, blast and tear their way through varicolored strata of differently-shaped blocks reminiscent of Tetris pieces; eliminate individual blocks or cluster of blocks, and the ones that were situated above them hang in place for a moment before falling down (in the path of, or right on top of, the skull-headed foot-racers around you and slowing them down if you're skilled/lucky... or, oops, right down onto your own bad self if you're not so skilled/lucky).

As if the environmental hazards weren't enough, the players can also actively attack each other. Smack your opponent around a bit as you both free-fall down a shaft, knock him into an obstruction at the last moment to pile some annoying seconds onto his time, and then add insult to injury by snagging the fireball pickup you just screwed him out of... before finally blasting him with it, just to drive the point home. Not sure what the rating on this game will ultimately be—but for smack-talk alone, our sessions here soared into M-rated territory almost immediately.

click to enlargeFor solo players, there will also be ten gameplay types spread throughout three worlds. Different challenges include eluding a relentless robot packing energy beams, swimming through liquid blocks, collecting 'boostie' jars for extra speed, and of course a series of Boss battles.

The crown-wearing King raskull seems to the game's bony poster-boy, but other costume options include a mummy, a ninja, a Robin Hood-esque archer, a duck for some reason, a solider, a knight, a wizard, Little Red Riding Hood—sure, why not—and, of course, a pirate. We're going to have a word with Halfbrick over the troubling lack of a zombie costume; it may have something to do with the difficulty of making a cartoonified skull-head look any more, or possibly less, dead.

Raskulls is slated to ship in early 2010, and will support both online and local split-screen play—check back when we roll the bones with a proper review.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Raskulls


More On GameRevolution