More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Ravaged Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
10/02/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 32 
PUBLISHER Reverb Publishing 
DEVELOPER 2 Dawn Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M What do these ratings mean?

I'm scared, Fif. It's that rat circus out there, I'm beginning to enjoy it.


As yet another shining example of Kickstarter's impact on indie developers, Ravaged is a multiplayer, class-based first-person shooter by 2 Dawn Games that combines the brashness and twitch action of Unreal Tournament with the vehicular system and color palette of Borderlands. It employs no-nonsense approach to damn good fun—no more, no less.

Before you write off 2 Dawn Games as just another indie developer, know that the small international team have contributed to other top-tier titles like the Battlefield franchise—they know what they're doing. But instead of going down the route of serious wartime firefights, Ravaged takes place in a post-apocalyptic future where more militarized Resistance and bandit Scavengers face off in a Mad Max-esque showdown over territory and simple resources like fuel. In this way, there are similarities to Brink but it's hardly as stern, especially where tennis ball bombs are concerned.



Gunplay is fast and furious, with quick regenerating health and a generous respawn time. Each side has five classes that cover the typical spread of soldier, sniper, heavy weapon specialist, recon, and engineer. The Resistance and Scavengers aren't completely symmetrical, but they're close enough that the gameplay remains balanced. So between the eight maps and two announced modes, both of which center around capturing spawn points, it's still a fair fight.

What separates Ravaged from the rest of the 32-player FPS landscape is the focus on vehicular combat which features ground types like simple ATVs and buggies, as well as air support like the Gyrocopter and MH-6 Mini Helicopter (which take a lot of technique to control). The majority of the ground vehicles have seats for multiple players, with perhaps one as the driver, one manning the turret, and two more just enjoying the ride while providing cover support. If any of the passengers sees another spawned vehicle, perhaps a Tractor Tank or Pickup Truck, they can easily hop off and sprint to it before the enemy team capture it.



Even with all the video game comparisons I made in the first half of this preview, it took a while to come up with them while I was playing Ravaged for the first time. That's only because it fits a hole in the FPS genre that has somehow been left behind, the kind of FPS that makes you chuckle with a tongue-in-cheek Goofy-like "geh-huh" even if you die. Best yet, Ravaged is only $24.99 for a single key or $59.99 for four keys. Ravaged releases on October 17, 2012.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Ravaged


More On GameRevolution