More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Rayman Legends Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
06/08/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 5 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence, Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Giving Mario a run for his coins.


After seeing the sleeper hit masterpiece that Ubisoft and Michael Ancil created with Rayman Origins, Legends was on my list of must-see games at E3. At the Nintendo booth, I got to Rayman: Legends directly after my time with the latest Super Mario outing, and it’s a hard truth to swallow, but Mario is no longer the king of platforming.



The gameplay, while following the exact same formula and mechanics as Origins, has been improved upon in every way. It’s hard to believe that running, jumping, and punching could be smoother, but oh, how it is!

The gorgeously rendered 2D backgrounds are more alive than before with 3D effects, like swooping dragons popping in and out all over. Secret areas are hidden extremely well, and the reward for discovering one is greaternot because of any bonus, but because each hidden area offers up a unique puzzle or mini-game, changing up the pacing and adding some variety.



Four-player co-op is back, but you can also add a fifth player if four Wiimotes and one Wii U Gamepad are used. At a glance, the player with the Wii U Gamepad is there for no other reason but to collect Lums, much like the second player in Mario Galaxy collects stars. But with the tilt and touch features of the Wii U, the Gamepad player becomes vital for puzzles and certain aspects of platforming progression. This was the innovation I was looking for at Nintendo’s E3 booth, and it wasn’t even Nintendo giving it to me. I couldn’t help but ponder if the same was possible using the PlayStation 3 and the Vita (we’ll have to wait and see).

Rayman: Legends ended up being my favorite title at Nintendo’s booth, and among my favorites of the show. Like Origins, it’s likely not high priority on anyone’s radar, but it really should be
Tags:   E3, Wii U, Ubisoft, Rayman
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Rayman Legends


More On GameRevolution