More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Remember Me Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
02/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Dontnod 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Are these thoughts mine... or yours?


Empathy. The capacity to recognize emotions that are being experienced by another. The cornerstone of humanity. Einfühlungsvermögen. One of the most positive words in the English language, as Lewis Black would say. But what would you do if you could do more than speculate what another person is feeling, actually experience their memories with all the senses? Perhaps you can even learn from those memories in a "I know kung fu" kind of way. Then what would happen if a corporation gets a handle of technology that might exploit this ability of perfect empathy? Would it bring about the destruction of humanity instead of its salvation. That's the concept underlying Capcom's new title Remember Me.

Nilin, voiced by Welsh actress Kezia Burrows, awakens in the sewers and subway tunnels of Neo-Paris in the year 2084. A scraggy gang of pale, beanstalk humanoidsabandoned lowlives known as Leapersfinds her in a black pod, one of many haplessly stacked in a pile. The Leapers cautiously creep away from her, surprised that she is not another Leaper born from the pods. As Nilin stumbles out and regains her footing, her consciousness returns but the knowledge of her own identity seems to have been taken from her.



But she soon realizes that she no time to remember, as the Leapers suddenly turn hostile, wanting nothing more than to throw their gangly hands at her well-toned flesh. With her forced into a corner, her survival instincts trigger the recovery of several memories and she finds herself to be a capable warrior with the ability to dodge easily and strike enemies with precise punches and kicks that belie her small frame. It doesn't take too long for the Leapers to reconsider their assault and flee instead to the shadows of the dilapidated tunnel.

Hand-to-hand combat is best described as a rhythmic exercise. Nilin can move, dodge, or strike with one of the player's preset combo chains. Button-mashing through a chain doesn't work; players need to be patient and input the next attack in a chain right about when the current attack is about to land. As her hits connect, the electronic tracks of the music stack upon each other, for an aural reward and response. That said, Nilin must be aware of her surroundings at all times, since enemies have no trouble interrupting her combos with swipes and flying strikes from the wall.



Similar to the combo system in God Hand, Remember Me grants Nilin the ability to tailor her own combos. In the limited span of time I had with the demo, she didn't have too many additional attacks called Pressens to choose from, but I was able to craft two separate chains with different effects, one with additional attack power and one with health regeneration ability. If players wish to play defensively, they can use the health regeneration combo while dodging effectively and not use the powerful chain combo until Nilin's health is full.

Eventually, as she gains PMP experience, Nilin will have multiple active combos that extend for perhaps eight attacks in a row, some with cooldown reduction and the ability to chain combos even further. She'll also have access to S-Pressens which can perform special abilities like Rust in Pieces, which hacks robot enemies for your cause, at the cost of some of her Focus gauge. If players ever find this combo-crafting too daunting, they can use the auto-fill option.

Interspersed between these combat sequences are bouts of linear exploration with wall-clinging, platform-climbing, and minor collectible-finding. Nilin has incredible grip strength and parkour prowess, as if she's secretly an Assassin. Sometimes this means moving cranes and activating catwalks to create a way for her to cross wide chasms or find a route to pick up collectibles, such as Mnesist NGOs and hidden stashes.



In fact, Nilin is a memory hunter who was a part of the Memorise corporation, but perhaps due to her power, her memories have been erased. As a memory hunter, she has the power to remix memories by entering and rearranging memories, and alter one particular moment that will significantly impact the subject's thoughts and beliefs. Certainly, she comes to suspect that someone has done the same to her, and to discover the culprit, she decides to deal with an underground group called the Errorists and follow the advice of her digital companion Edge. It soon becomes clear through a broken newscast that Nilin is Public Enemy #1 and has escaped from a place called Amnesia Cathedral. If that doesn't sound Orwellian, I don't know what does.

It's fantastic to see Capcom give Dontnod Entertainment the opportunity to develop a new intellectual property in a sea of sequels and calculated risks. Remember Me has been slated for May 2013 on X360, PS3, and PC.
Tags:   Capcom, Remember Me
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Remember Me


More On GameRevolution