More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES An Updating List of PlayStation 4 Updates We Want
Sony and Microsoft have been updating their consoles regularly, but we wanted to share our own ideas for updating the PS4 firmware.

An Updating List of Xbox One Updates We Want
Microsoft has launched Xbox One and done its best to follow Sony's lead and its even secured some exclusive software, but we want more.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
01/24/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Resident Lost Evil Planet.


I was worried from first glance that Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City might play too similarly to something like Left4Dead, and after playing it, I was proven pretty much right. Except I'm not as worried anymore. ORC is a third-person shooter with zombies in it, driven by checkpoints and blasts of zombie and monster-swarming goodness, and awesome If you're into that sort of thing.



The world looks great, with fine details on everything from character models to the piles of rubble dotting the urban landscape. It might be the darkness and the not-quite-finished feeling the demo had, but the look isn't extraordinary or terribly unique. Polished, yes, but it doesn't stand out as anything that hasn't been seen before. Of course, this is Raccoon Ctiy and we've been here before. Hopefully, the finished story will make the difference as very little was explained in the demo, apart from Umbrella Corp's attempt to cover up what happened in the city during the zombie invasion.

It becomes clear from the gameplay that it's much faster and more pick-up-and-play than the other Resident Evil titles. You can quickly execute brutal kills on zombies, use green herbs off the ground for immediate health, and fire off rifle rounds in fast succession. Mowing down the infected is a simple task, but getting surrounded is never good, especially if you're facing a combination of zombies and police officers. Going into the red also means that the infected will catch your scent faster. So it's usually better to run to your next objective.



Multiple characters with different strengths are available for play, like the medic Bertha and the explosives expert Beltway, or you can do what I did and go into the zombie world guns-a-blazing. Some will grab you, some will just smack you around, one will take you with his tongue (*cough*Left4Dead*cough*). Though the limited demo felt like something we've all played before, the potential of four-player cooperative play and the yet unrevealed story will likely make the game stand out from the rest of the pack.

Look for Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City on March 20, , and we'll see just how evil Raccoon City can be.  Watch your ammo, soldier!
More GR previews for this game:
Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City preview posted on 02/15/12.
Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City preview posted on 10/31/11.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City


More On GameRevolution