More Reviews
REVIEWS Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...

Murasaki Baby Review
When a little girl with an upside-down face finds a balloon, you better protect it from monsters!
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
01/24/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Resident Lost Evil Planet.


I was worried from first glance that Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City might play too similarly to something like Left4Dead, and after playing it, I was proven pretty much right. Except I'm not as worried anymore. ORC is a third-person shooter with zombies in it, driven by checkpoints and blasts of zombie and monster-swarming goodness, and awesome If you're into that sort of thing.



The world looks great, with fine details on everything from character models to the piles of rubble dotting the urban landscape. It might be the darkness and the not-quite-finished feeling the demo had, but the look isn't extraordinary or terribly unique. Polished, yes, but it doesn't stand out as anything that hasn't been seen before. Of course, this is Raccoon Ctiy and we've been here before. Hopefully, the finished story will make the difference as very little was explained in the demo, apart from Umbrella Corp's attempt to cover up what happened in the city during the zombie invasion.

It becomes clear from the gameplay that it's much faster and more pick-up-and-play than the other Resident Evil titles. You can quickly execute brutal kills on zombies, use green herbs off the ground for immediate health, and fire off rifle rounds in fast succession. Mowing down the infected is a simple task, but getting surrounded is never good, especially if you're facing a combination of zombies and police officers. Going into the red also means that the infected will catch your scent faster. So it's usually better to run to your next objective.



Multiple characters with different strengths are available for play, like the medic Bertha and the explosives expert Beltway, or you can do what I did and go into the zombie world guns-a-blazing. Some will grab you, some will just smack you around, one will take you with his tongue (*cough*Left4Dead*cough*). Though the limited demo felt like something we've all played before, the potential of four-player cooperative play and the yet unrevealed story will likely make the game stand out from the rest of the pack.

Look for Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City on March 20, , and we'll see just how evil Raccoon City can be.  Watch your ammo, soldier!
More GR previews for this game:
Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City preview posted on 10/31/11.
Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City preview posted on 02/15/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City


More On GameRevolution