More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Resident Evil: Revelations Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
02/13/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Scanning for much more.

I was slightly skeptical about Resident Evil: Revelations for the 3DS handheld when the high review scores came in, even the 4.5 stars in GR's review. But after purchasing a copy of my own, I understand the praises for what is the best Resident Evil title since Resident Evil 4 (some would argue even further back than that). Likewise, I was slightly skeptical when I crept over to the station with the Xbox 360 port of this 3DS handheld title at a Capcom preview event. But after sitting down with the game for 20 minutes, my lingering doubts were justifiably shot in the face like the monsters that they are.



As you might suspect, the major gameplay elements of the original title have not been changed - not even the Gemini scanner sequences - though the graphics have made an incredible leap forward. From the small screen of the 3DS, the environments and character models have expanded to full 720p HD resolution. It essentially looks like a genuine main entry in the series, as if no one knew that it was missing and was found by surprise.

Most of the alterations are minor but will be significant for fans of the original title. The Hell difficulty mode, the hardest of them all, has been swapped with Infernal, which just by the sound of it is even more difficult. Enemies won't just have more health points and deal more damage, but they will come scrambling out at every corner and overwhelm you with numbers. Even if you succeed to dispatch them, your ammo will likely be drained. Of course, this is exactly the kind of challenge that Resident Evil experts love.



Raid mode has also been transferred with upgrades. There are new customized options for parts, new costumes for the primary cast, and the addition of new characters (Hunk is the only one to be revealed so far). As usual, you and a partner can go through a stage gathering better equipment, earn experience to level up for improved stats, and purchase new parts using BP earned by completing mission. Playing through the regular campaign eventually unlocks new stages for Raid Mode, notably more difficult stages where more BP and EXP can be earned.

Resident Evil: Revelations will arrive on Xbox 360, PS3, Wii U, and PC for $49.99 on May 21. Minor DLC has been planned, but there will be no on-disc DLC. (The rep said that they learned their lesson.)
More GR previews for this game:
Resident Evil: Revelations preview posted on 02/13/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Resident Evil: Revelations


More On GameRevolution