More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Retro City Rampage (Vita) Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Vblank Entertainment Inc. 
DEVELOPER Vblank Entertainment Inc. 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

Serenity Now!


George Costanza's Frogger high score lives on in the form of a trophy in Retro City Rampage from Vblank Entertainment. Beating "GLC's" score nets you the digital marker of your accomplishment, but the off-the-wall references and bat-shit insane action don't stop there.

Retro City Rampage drops players in a world where old shit is funny shit, and funny shit is downright hilarious. Wanna play a Virtual Boy version of Super Meat Boy? Retro City Rampage has this, and you can even strap a pair of Red and Blue 3D glasses on your head and play in stereoscopic 3D (just like Gunpei Yokoi intended).


It's easy to get distracted from the main game when there are so many great references and inside jokes to soak up. It's almost as if Brian Provinciano were winking at players every time they picked up the game.

When you've got an arcade slant like Retro City Rampage does, you can wink at me all you'd like. The game employs a soft lock so that players don't have to worry about aiming and can instead focus on continuing their path of destruction. Retro City Rampage plays out like an arcade Grand Theft Auto, where high scores are more important than ground-breaking narrative. You've got to keep murdering, exploding, and generally destroying to push your score to new heights.


If you're not into competing with yourself or with others on leaderboards, there is a full-featured story mode to teach you the basics and allow for free play. While we weren't able to get much narrative from the early missions, Retro City Rampage proves itself fast, frantic, and absolutely hilarious.

There's no current release date set, but Vblank will be releasing the title to XBLA, PSN, PC, and of course the PlayStation Vita via PSN.
Tags:   E3, Vita
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Retro City Rampage (Vita)


More On GameRevolution