More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Saints Row IV Preview

Keri_Honea By:
Keri_Honea
03/22/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Deep Silver 
DEVELOPER Volition 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Content, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Hail to the Saints!

After conquering all he/she/you set out to do as leader of the infamous Saints in Saints Row: The Third, what the most logical step for a gang leader to take? Why, to become the next president of the free world, of course!

Yes, it's true; in Saints Row 4, the leader of the Saints has been elected as President of the United States, and the rest of the Saints are the newly appointed Cabinet members. Not long after everyone has sworn their oaths and taken office, a race of aliens called Zen beams down to earth and kidnaps the Saints. Of course the President doesn't stay captured for long, and now it's part of the presidential duties to stop the aliens, rescue the Saints, and perhaps kill voters along the way.



But it wouldn't be a Saints Row game without some insanity, right? Well, how about the fact that the player now has superpowers? It makes it easier to combat the aliens if one has superpowers, after all. These powers include super running speed, gliding, the ability to leap tall buildings with a single bound, ice freezing powers, and telekinesis. Probably one of the most amusing uses I saw for telekinesis during this demonstration was the President—dressed as Uncle Sam, no less—hurling a hapless citizen toward some alien scum, thereby effectively killing both on contact.

Speaking of costumes, Volition has tremendously enhanced how players can customize the look of their characters. Not only can players pick costumes, such as Uncle Sam garb, but they can also customize the look of their weapons as well as upgrade them. These modifications to the weapons are purely cosmetic, so no matter how ridiculous a grenade launcher looks (as depicted below), it will still fire and wreak as much havok as your typical grenade launcher.


The Volition representatives on-site said that they wanted players to be able to have their characters look however they wanted, down to the weaponry. So if you want your character to look Victorian, your weapons can look Victorian as well.

But don't worry; Volition is adding the ridiculous weapons the game is known for on top of the ridiculous looks you can bestow upon them. They only showed us two of these new weapons, but they garnered a number of laughs across the room when they were presented. The first was the inflatable weapon, which literally inflates victims to comic proportions until they explode. The second was my favorite, and possible the favorite of everyone in the roomthe dubstep gun. This gun literally fires the booming sounds of dubstep at its targets, prompting everyone to pretty much dance to death or be beaten down the with harsh beats. No matter how many times we saw this weapon getting used or how long the presenter used it, we could not stop laughing.

Since this game has the added dimension of superpowers, which includes the abilities to glide and leap buildings, the open world of Saints Row 4 is significantly larger than that of Saints Row: The Third, simply bcause the open world has now grown vertically. Players can expect the "critical path" of the game to last as long as Saints Row: The Third, but those who foray into the extra exploration and mayhem of the open world will definitely squeeze the most bang from the buck.

Saints Row 4 will release on August 20, 2013 for Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. It will not be a next-gen title.
More GR previews for this game:
Saints Row IV preview posted on 06/17/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Saints Row IV


More On GameRevolution