More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Sanctum 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
03/21/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy / FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Reverb Publishing 
DEVELOPER Coffee Stain Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violence, Blood, Language

What do these ratings mean?

It's tower defense Borderlands 2.

The first Sanctum, developed by Coffee Stain Studios, launched with an intriguing hybridization concept: take familiar first-person shooter elements and snipe them into the tower defense genre. Released on Steam in March 2011, this single-player and cooperative title received fairly positive reviews for its uniqueness, though it was on the short side, essentially a prototype waiting for deeper development. Coffee Stain Studios heeded the advice and the result is the upcoming Sanctum 2.

Similar to its predecessor, the object of Sanctum 2 is to prevent waves of monster from breaching your defenses; in this case, protecting the central core from taking damage. Each progressive wave increases in difficulty, with additional monsters and stronger ones at that, but you've got more than enough firepower to manage.



During the construction phase, you can build blocks in designated rectangular grid-based areas to slow down or outright destroy enemies before they even reach the core. The pathways of how monsters will appear during each wave is shown on your handy map, and by placing blocks in strategic places, they will need to go around the blocks, all while taking fire from turrets purchasable and upgradeable through resources collected between each wave. There's something dark, yet satisfying, about killing enemies by using the item drops of their fallen brothers.

The only downside is that however you build your defenses, you can't completely construct blocks in such a way that monsters have no way around them; or, in other words, a wall. But worse case scenario, if enemies do start climbing over your defenses, you can take care of them yourself. All it takes is a few well-placed shots with your gun of choice and the suckers don't stand a chance.



Better yet, in this sequel you can join with up to three extra friends in cooperative play on fifteen maps, hopefully as different classes to take advantage of each other's strengths since the monsters becomes more difficult with more players. Most players will likely choose the straightforward Soldier class before spreading out to the Tank, Demolition expert, and Sniper (my preferred class), all of which gain experience and can unlock various perks. One in particular that the producer of the game showed me is a damage shield around the core, so that pesky grunts will commit suicide if they manage to get through. Beyond that, this makes it easier to assign the best role to each player.

Sanctum 2 is set to release in May 2013 for not just Steam, but also Xbox Live Arcade and PlayStation Network, for the low price of $14.99.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sanctum 2


More On GameRevolution