More Reviews
REVIEWS Stronghold Crusader 2 Review
From out of nowhere, Firefly Studios has released a title that is so, so close to being considered an RTS classic.

SPACECOM Review
This strategic space fighter won’t wow you with its looks, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t fun to be had. Especially if you bring friends along.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Sunset Overdrive Preview
Microsoft and Insomniac Games have created a new open-world shooter with clear influences from Jet Grind Radio. We went hands-on with the first hour of the game.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.

Interview: Sunset Overdrive's Drew Murray and Ted Price Talk Traversal and Game Design
Insomniac's open-world shooter will land exclusively on Xbox One later this year and we got to go hands-on and speak with the devs on the this stylish Xbox One exclusive.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137 Background: I own and have completed every entry in the Ninja Storm series, so there is inherent bias but luckily this isn’t a review. These are just my thoughts on a fun series I chose to pick up after my Dragon Ball Z Budokai days. I am also only about 3 episodes behind in the...

Sanctum 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
03/21/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy/FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Reverb Publishing 
DEVELOPER Coffee Stain Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violence, Blood, Language

What do these ratings mean?

It's tower defense Borderlands 2.

The first Sanctum, developed by Coffee Stain Studios, launched with an intriguing hybridization concept: take familiar first-person shooter elements and snipe them into the tower defense genre. Released on Steam in March 2011, this single-player and cooperative title received fairly positive reviews for its uniqueness, though it was on the short side, essentially a prototype waiting for deeper development. Coffee Stain Studios heeded the advice and the result is the upcoming Sanctum 2.

Similar to its predecessor, the object of Sanctum 2 is to prevent waves of monster from breaching your defenses; in this case, protecting the central core from taking damage. Each progressive wave increases in difficulty, with additional monsters and stronger ones at that, but you've got more than enough firepower to manage.



During the construction phase, you can build blocks in designated rectangular grid-based areas to slow down or outright destroy enemies before they even reach the core. The pathways of how monsters will appear during each wave is shown on your handy map, and by placing blocks in strategic places, they will need to go around the blocks, all while taking fire from turrets purchasable and upgradeable through resources collected between each wave. There's something dark, yet satisfying, about killing enemies by using the item drops of their fallen brothers.

The only downside is that however you build your defenses, you can't completely construct blocks in such a way that monsters have no way around them; or, in other words, a wall. But worse case scenario, if enemies do start climbing over your defenses, you can take care of them yourself. All it takes is a few well-placed shots with your gun of choice and the suckers don't stand a chance.



Better yet, in this sequel you can join with up to three extra friends in cooperative play on fifteen maps, hopefully as different classes to take advantage of each other's strengths since the monsters becomes more difficult with more players. Most players will likely choose the straightforward Soldier class before spreading out to the Tank, Demolition expert, and Sniper (my preferred class), all of which gain experience and can unlock various perks. One in particular that the producer of the game showed me is a damage shield around the core, so that pesky grunts will commit suicide if they manage to get through. Beyond that, this makes it easier to assign the best role to each player.

Sanctum 2 is set to release in May 2013 for not just Steam, but also Xbox Live Arcade and PlayStation Network, for the low price of $14.99.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sanctum 2


More On GameRevolution