More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: Out Now

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, or Die February 2015: Game of Thrones, Evolve, Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask 3D
We've gotten hands-on time with some of 2015's Valentines and episodes, but we need to make judgments!

Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Sanctum 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
03/21/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy/FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Reverb Publishing 
DEVELOPER Coffee Stain Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violence, Blood, Language

What do these ratings mean?

It's tower defense Borderlands 2.

The first Sanctum, developed by Coffee Stain Studios, launched with an intriguing hybridization concept: take familiar first-person shooter elements and snipe them into the tower defense genre. Released on Steam in March 2011, this single-player and cooperative title received fairly positive reviews for its uniqueness, though it was on the short side, essentially a prototype waiting for deeper development. Coffee Stain Studios heeded the advice and the result is the upcoming Sanctum 2.

Similar to its predecessor, the object of Sanctum 2 is to prevent waves of monster from breaching your defenses; in this case, protecting the central core from taking damage. Each progressive wave increases in difficulty, with additional monsters and stronger ones at that, but you've got more than enough firepower to manage.



During the construction phase, you can build blocks in designated rectangular grid-based areas to slow down or outright destroy enemies before they even reach the core. The pathways of how monsters will appear during each wave is shown on your handy map, and by placing blocks in strategic places, they will need to go around the blocks, all while taking fire from turrets purchasable and upgradeable through resources collected between each wave. There's something dark, yet satisfying, about killing enemies by using the item drops of their fallen brothers.

The only downside is that however you build your defenses, you can't completely construct blocks in such a way that monsters have no way around them; or, in other words, a wall. But worse case scenario, if enemies do start climbing over your defenses, you can take care of them yourself. All it takes is a few well-placed shots with your gun of choice and the suckers don't stand a chance.



Better yet, in this sequel you can join with up to three extra friends in cooperative play on fifteen maps, hopefully as different classes to take advantage of each other's strengths since the monsters becomes more difficult with more players. Most players will likely choose the straightforward Soldier class before spreading out to the Tank, Demolition expert, and Sniper (my preferred class), all of which gain experience and can unlock various perks. One in particular that the producer of the game showed me is a damage shield around the core, so that pesky grunts will commit suicide if they manage to get through. Beyond that, this makes it easier to assign the best role to each player.

Sanctum 2 is set to release in May 2013 for not just Steam, but also Xbox Live Arcade and PlayStation Network, for the low price of $14.99.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sanctum 2