More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Severed Preview

gil_almogi By:
Gil_Almogi
04/13/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Drinkbox Studios 
DEVELOPER Drinkbox Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Get ready to touch your enemies to death!

The trailer is out for Drinkbox Studios’ next title, Severed, and There is a lot you can discern just from watching it, but I was lucky enough to speak with the game's designer Chris McQuinn about what you can’t suss out from the several-minute clip.

The story features an as-of-yet unnamed female protagonist, who loses her arm. The setting is supposed to be a dream-like fantasy world she wakes up in with a lot of questions running around in her head. Although I didn’t get too many details, as they are still working on them, a portion of the plot focuses on the chase to retrieve her wandering severed arm. The metaphors are strong with this one.



The game itself is a first-person RPG-like dungeon crawler. Compared to others you may be used to, Severed incorporates touchscreen controls to navigate and kill baddies. As you progress, you’ll be able to gain abilities that further enable you to tackle enemies that may have proven too challenging during previous encounters. There will also be spells and items, enhancing your battle experience.

Funnily enough, Chris said the first-person battles were inspired by Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!! While fighting foes, they’ll have certain weakness and special tells that will allow observant and upgraded players to slay them with greater ease. Based on a few scenes, it looks like the enemies are quite fantastical in nature, keeping things interesting for the eyes. You also can be completely surrounded by enemies, and choosing who to engage first will determine your chances at survival.



Drinkbox Studios hopes to have a playable demo of Severed ready for PAX Prime in August at the latest, maybe by E3 in June. They also hope to actually release the game by Spring of 2015. Platforms are presently unannounced, but they are looking into any system with touchscreen capabilities: Vita, 3DS, or even mobile.
More GR previews for this game:
Severed preview posted on 04/13/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Severed


More On GameRevolution