More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Shaun White Skateboarding Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
10/07/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft Montreal 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Mild Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

What can't this guy do?


We all know Shaun White. Red-headed Olympic snowboarder, Target clothing brand mogul, all-american-flannel-wearing hero - these are just some of the ways you might see Shaun in your mind's eye. Another snowboarding game? No way, bro! Shaun's switchin' style, stickin' to the streets, and totally shredding the 'phalt. That's right, all those apostrophes mean I'm talking about skateboarding!

click to enlargeVideo games have been there, done that. What could Shaun and Ubisoft possibly bring to the table that that Tony guy hasn't tried yet? Aside from an injection of youth (Tony's, like, in his 30s now, pssshhh), Shaun White Skateboarding gives the player the ability to affect the environment in a variety of ways.

This doesn't include THUG-style explosions and terrible attempts at humor. Instead, the "Ministry" has taken over and enforced an emotionless bleak world onto society. It's all very Brave New World, except the "New World" is your skateboard. Completing wicked-sick tricks liberates not only the environment, but the population as well, opening up additional tasks for your skater to complete. Finishing those tasks unlocks more of the world. It's like Super Mario Sunshine if you replace that mouthy water-backpack for a skateboard.

Liberating the city isn't a matter of simply landing a trick here and there. Players have to build up the Flow Meter to make an impact on the people and places they skate around. The Flow Meter is separated into sections, and some of the muted citizens and locations in the city will require much bigger combo streaks to be impressed.

The environment lends itself to this mechanic, encouraging the player to trick, grind, and generally score as many points as possible to free up the kind of environmental decorations you'd normally see in a skating game. Neon lines populate the landscape and grinding these lines cause them to expand, taking the player to locations previously unreachable. This general line will take you throughout the area and "liberate" the skate park furniture you can use to really rack up points and fully open the zone.

click to enlargeReleasing the city from the Ministry's grasp is a daunting task, but Shaun entrusts you with the responsibility from the beginning. Your faceless, customizable skater takes up the mantle as the people's champion, and NPCs fill in familiar skateboard-game roles: the perpetually stoned shop owner, the mysterious underground group leader, fellow skating bros.

The only thing that needs improvement is the trick system, which lacks the accessibility of Tony Hawk's controls and the intuitive simplicity of Skate's controls. It gets easier to grasp as you play, but patience is unfortunately not one of my virtues. Regardless, if Ubisoft Montreal simply aped previous control schemes, I'd be ripping them for that, so it's nice to see they're trying something different.

I'm very happy to see Ubisoft and Shaun White trying something new. With Activision forcing Tony Hawk to kickflip his way to the grave and Skate missing this holiday season, Shaun should have plenty of help overthrowing the Ministry. Shaun White Skateboarding will be on store shelves on October 28 24, 2010.
More GR previews for this game:
Shaun White Skateboarding preview posted on 10/07/10.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Shaun White Skateboarding


More On GameRevolution