More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Shoot Many Robots Preview

Mike_Bryant By:
Mike_Bryant
03/21/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Demiurge Studios 
DEVELOPER Demiurge Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Strong Language,Use of Alcohol,Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Take that, Iron Giant.


[Editor's Note: Demiurge Studios has yet to announce on which platforms this title will be released. We assume it will be available at least on Xbox Live and PC.]

Shoot Many Robots. A side-scrolling shoot-'em-up that has been dubbed "Boarder-slug". The concept is pretty simple: Robots attack you. Many of them. What is the best way of stopping the endless hordes of mechanical malcontents? Shoot them.

click to enlargeWhile it has the looks of a Metal Slug or a Contra with its action and gameplay, there are some really cool options that make this title unique. First off, beer is life. No, this is not a personal declaration of my love for the fizzy brew. Beer is used as health. This gives you an idea of what kind of minds created this game.

Second, there is a veritable plethora of weapon and armor options. You have your choice of primary weapon which is mostly some sort of machine gun and, when you level up high enough, usually ends up being an even cooler machine gun. There is a secondary weapon, too, for when you eventually run out of ammo. Your options are a shotgun or grenade launcher that, once again, turns into a really cool shotgun or grenade launcher when you level up enough.

The armor and clothing options are where things get out there. You have your standard military helmet, but you also have a choice of headwear, like a football helmet or a Tam o' Shantern (you know, the plaid Scottish hat with the fuzzy ball on top). These are not for just looks, either. Every wearable item affects the way you play in the way of adding armor or speed or hit point bonuses. The beer hat is not only one of the most entertaining options to see, but also keeps your health up as well.

click to enlargeFairy wings, jetpacks, kilts, and tutus are all available to dress up your robot-killing badass in order to best prepare him for his side-scrolling adventure. The wardrobe is rounded out with the more mundane items like ammo packs and camo-pants. With all of these items to choose from, however, the gameplay will reflect the customization of the individual player, resulting in a truly unique experience for everyone.

While the in-game action is not necessarily something new, there are some cool new moves; as in deflecting enemy bullets with your gun. The robots that attack you range from little bastards with chainsaws that can’t be hit from the front, to little flying bastards that drop bombs on you. This game will definitely not make you sympathize with the robot cause. Besides the main campaign, there is also a survival mode, where players fight off wave after wave of robots for the pure fun of shooting robots (I think there is a theme here somewhere).

Shoot Many Robots looks fun for anybody who doesn’t think that robots are cute or awesome. Fans of the classic side-scrolling genre should definitely check it out, but this game will rock any video game fan’s world. Look for the release in 2011.
More GR previews for this game:
Shoot Many Robots preview posted on 03/21/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Shoot Many Robots


More On GameRevolution