More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Earth Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER 2K 
DEVELOPER Firaxis 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Alcohol Reference, Fantasy Violence, Language

What do these ratings mean?

Sid Meier's Starcraft.

The lure of the Sid Meier's Civilization series, the epitome of the strategy genre, has been its play on history and famous figures, so the earlier announcement of the sci-fi variation Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Earth came to many as a shock. In the recent Civilization V, a player can earn a science victory by developing several spaceship parts and assembling them together into a rocket. Beyond Earth imagines a time well passed that, where humanity has the technology to cultivate and colonize alien worlds. Will humans destroy this new planet just as they have Earth or should they strip the planet's resources to advance society even further?

Instead of cultural or geographical boundaries, the separation between different players will be based on factions with contrasting Affinities, like the Ideologies from Brave New World, on how the human race should evolve over time. Some factions believe in Harmony, becoming one with the environment through specific gene splicing and living with the planet's resources. Where green toxic gases might make a hex-tile poisonous to units, those aligned with Harmony can harness the gas for other uses.



The same goes for the wildlife, which can be eradicated as some Supremacy-affinity civilizations might do, or avoided altogether. That said, building cities anywhere near a siege worm is probably a terrible idea since it can ravage through cities and raze tile improvements into the ground, literally. However, it is possible to send a covert ops agent to an enemy's capital and have that agent lure siege worms into their cities (you prick). Purity civilizations, on the other hand, is about creating an idealized version of how humanity is more or less now, a more conservative, nigh-nostalgic approach to the future. Heavy battlesuits and floating tanks may not sound reasonable to others, but they build a strong military nonetheless.

Even in its pre-alpha state, Beyond Earth will feel familiar by design with terrain like canyons and plains that have a particular output of available food and resources. After establishing a city, players will want to explore their surroundings with a scout-like explorer, who might find bonuses by excavating fossils, and defend their territory with all sorts of sleek warships, exosuits, and tanks. Upon discovering non-player civilizations, players can establish trade routes and befriend their neighbors enough for them to gift over siege units. And much like iron and oil in vanilla Civilization, some tiles in Beyond Earth will have resources like floatstone that are required to construct powerful buildings, hurl satellites into orbit, and support advanced military units.



Instead of earning most technologies in a linear fashion, the tech tree is almost a "sphere grid" of abilities that directs players from the inside-out. Since different sides of the tech tree gravitate toward different factions, it's important to choose which affinity suits the player's style before plotting future moves. The complexity of the tech tree, though, will allow for plenty of customization and hybridization. I wish I could have taken a picture of the massive branching tree, littered with aspects like Computing, Robotics, Ecology, and Automated Systems.

Most of what's been shown in Beyond Earth have analogies to the Civilization standard, but the extent of the interactions with other civilizations, the social policies, the espionage, the Great Persons, and a would-be intergalactic Congress remains to be seen. Beyond Earth is slated for a Fall release on PC, Mac, and Linux  in North America 
More GR previews for this game:
Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Earth preview posted on 08/28/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Earth


More On GameRevolution