More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Silent Hill: Book of Memories Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Double Helix 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

You got your Pyramid Head in my dungeon crawler.


Silent Hill: Book of Memories for the Vita is a new direction for the franchise. I know this because the Konami rep at the kiosk told it to me at least four times while I played the demo. It's a top-down, isometric-view dungeon crawler with randomly generated dungeons. Weapons, villains, and strange rooms with little girls yelling "no" at you are all Silent Hill.



The level I played was short on story and hefty on combat, with Silent Hill favorites like those... mummy-things, and those... dog-things. Pyramid Head showed up in the video preview, and I imagine that he and some other big time enemies show up as bosses later in the game.

A highlight of the game (which I wasn't able to see) is the possibility of four player co-op. Even without that I felt something strange that I hadn't felt for a while when I thought about the state of the Silent Hill franchise. It was... fun!



Outside of the basic combat mechanic which allowed you to assign small weapons to either hand, or a large weapon like a pipe to both hands, the level was completed by assembling the pieces of a basic puzzle from combat challenge rooms. A store, which had to be found, allowed the option of buying better weapons and provisions, though the level I played was early enough that this was hardly necessary.

Silent Hill: Book of Memories was a surprising amount of fun. Pistol-whipping mummy-things with dual-wielded empty revolvers turned out to be just what the horrible nurse-thing ordered.
Tags:   E3, Vita, Silent Hill, Konami
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Silent Hill: Book of Memories