More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Skylanders Giants Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/08/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Toys for Bob 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This will make you enjoy giving Activision your money.


Skylanders GIants just may be the apex of collectible video gaming. This game summons all the excitement of collectible gaming I remember from my childhood, from the obsessive trading of friendship bracelets by the girls of my fourth grade class, to pogs, Magic: The Gathering, Pokémon, and Warhammer 40K. Skylanders has them all beat, though, with its in-game assets assigned to the physical action figure characters.



Skylanders Giants goes one step further by increasing the novelty value of specific collectibles by giving them special attributes both inside and outside the game. Like the previous game, playable characters in Skylanders Giants are assigned by placing the physical toy on the plastic "portal" stand. This makes that character appear in the game, but the character's attributes (which level up over time through gameplay) are recorded on the toy itself, so that character can be played cross-platform on any version of the game (Wii, Xbox 360, PS3) by putting it on the game's portal regardless of the platform.

The game adds the Giants to this version, who have gameplay features that allow them to open paths the regular hero toys can't. This has allowed the developers to put more of an emphasis on exploration this time around. They've also introduced a line of specific Returning Champion from the first game, and a subset of those called the "Light Core" that actually cause the Portal to light up with different colors. In addition to that, the new game increases the level cap from 10 to 15, creating more of an incentive to keep the first generation of Skylanders figures around.



An introductory version of the game will run you $74.99 including the portal, Giant figure, Returning Champion, and new character. Just the game and the Giant figure will run $59.99. There will be 8 Giants, 1 for each element, at $14.99. The Light Core Returning Champions will be $11.99, and all other figures $9.99.

Skylanders Giants is slated for PS3, Xbox 360, and Wii, with a different version for Nintendo 3DS (but that no doubt carries the stats of the figures just the same).
More GR previews for this game:
Skylanders Giants preview posted on 06/08/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Skylanders Giants


More On GameRevolution