More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Skylanders Giants Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/08/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Toys for Bob 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This will make you enjoy giving Activision your money.


Skylanders GIants just may be the apex of collectible video gaming. This game summons all the excitement of collectible gaming I remember from my childhood, from the obsessive trading of friendship bracelets by the girls of my fourth grade class, to pogs, Magic: The Gathering, Pokémon, and Warhammer 40K. Skylanders has them all beat, though, with its in-game assets assigned to the physical action figure characters.



Skylanders Giants goes one step further by increasing the novelty value of specific collectibles by giving them special attributes both inside and outside the game. Like the previous game, playable characters in Skylanders Giants are assigned by placing the physical toy on the plastic "portal" stand. This makes that character appear in the game, but the character's attributes (which level up over time through gameplay) are recorded on the toy itself, so that character can be played cross-platform on any version of the game (Wii, Xbox 360, PS3) by putting it on the game's portal regardless of the platform.

The game adds the Giants to this version, who have gameplay features that allow them to open paths the regular hero toys can't. This has allowed the developers to put more of an emphasis on exploration this time around. They've also introduced a line of specific Returning Champion from the first game, and a subset of those called the "Light Core" that actually cause the Portal to light up with different colors. In addition to that, the new game increases the level cap from 10 to 15, creating more of an incentive to keep the first generation of Skylanders figures around.



An introductory version of the game will run you $74.99 including the portal, Giant figure, Returning Champion, and new character. Just the game and the Giant figure will run $59.99. There will be 8 Giants, 1 for each element, at $14.99. The Light Core Returning Champions will be $11.99, and all other figures $9.99.

Skylanders Giants is slated for PS3, Xbox 360, and Wii, with a different version for Nintendo 3DS (but that no doubt carries the stats of the figures just the same).
More GR previews for this game:
Skylanders Giants preview posted on 06/08/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Skylanders Giants