More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Skylanders Swap Force Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
07/29/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Vicarious Visions 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Like a Yoplait Light, it's a swapportunity.

Not taking Skylanders seriously is easy. It's a family-friendly kids game with simplistic gameplay and bright, happy colors meant for its age group. It's about as far away from hardcore gaming as possible. But that's only if you think that making money isn't hardcore, because if you combine all of the sales in 2012 from the Skylanders video games and their numerous, inexpensive, surprisingly well-crafted figurines, it dominated every other toy brand. We're talking bigger than Call of Duty, bigger than Transformers, even bigger than Star Wars. Skylanders: Swap Force will only feed the beast.

If you've read my first, pre-E3 preview for the title, you'll know that Swap Force is all about detachable figurines, split into top and bottom halves held together by magnets. Thus, every purchase of one of the new sixteen Swap Force figurines will yield double the number of possible combinations. (That's 2n for you math geeks!) Just make sure you or your kid doesn't lose half of one or leaves half at their friend's house. It's bound to happen...



So that means you can combine the swashbuckling pirate octopus Wash Buckler with the magnetized, single-wheeled robot Magna Charge and create two options: Wash Charge, The Single-Wheeled Pirate; or Magna Buckler, The One-Eyed Robot Octopus. Either one works. (As band names too.)  While this is certainly an incentive for fans to purchase every Swap Force figurine, as well as the eight new core figurines and the Series 2/3 versions of their favorite past Skylanders, this gimmick expresses itself through the gameplay.

Not only can players combine the powers of two separate pieces however they choose, but they'll need the help of a user-crafted Skylander to open dual-elemental gates. The only other way to unlock them is to play cooperatively, using the handy drop-in/drop-out multiplayer system, and place two Skylanders of the correctly paired elements. (Or I suppose players can cheat the system by activating co-op even if no one else is around and then revert back to solo mode after taking care of the gate.) Either way, the new Portal of Power will be a necessary upgrade in order to recognize the different top and bottom halves.



Swap Force works exactly as you would expect a Skylanders title to—hats and all—with minor adjustments. Chaos returns once more, this time attempting to "evilize" otherwise peaceful creatures with petrified darkness. But it's still about exploring linear levels upon islands in the sky, collecting treasure, knocking out waves of enemies, and figuring out the occasional box puzzle.

That said, the level cap has been raised from 15 to 20, every Skylander can now jump, and the graphical fidelity has been improved dramatically to suit both current and next-gen consoles. For added replay, both Hard and Nightmare difficulties will net players more experience and gold, and timed challenges and score attack challenges will unlock after playing the game once through.

As one of the very few family titles releasing for both next-gen systems, Skylanders Swap Force is slated for October 13, 2013 for Wii, Wii U, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and Nintendo 3DS, and is setting up to be a launch title for the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.
More GR previews for this game:
Skylanders Swap Force preview posted on 02/05/13.
Skylanders Swap Force preview posted on 02/05/13.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Skylanders Swap Force