More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Skylanders Trap Team Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
06/19/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Toys for Bob 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Is this a trap?

At my hands-off showing of Skylanders Trap Team, a world of flying dinosaurs, candy-barfing piñatas, and tomato-shooting artichokes were presented to me in such a way that if there were only one copy of the game left, some kid and I might have to arm-wrestle for it. The majestic visuals of the lay of the land can be enchanting. With an even blend of smoothly crafted shapes and colors, it’s truly an attention-grabber.
 
The folks at Toys for Bob, developers of this fable-like creation, are back at it again. With the concept and plot sounding like something out of a Maurice Sendak story, Trap Team centers around the evil villains of Cloudcracker prison who have just broken out with the help from Kaos. After their break to freedom, each of them set out through Skylands to wreak havoc. It is now up to the original Skylanders and Trap Master Skylanders to seek out their foes and recapture them all (maybe they should get a little help from Ash, just saying).


 
There are plenty of villains to chase after, each having their unique set of powers. After defeating and capturing the enemy, you are then able to use them in your quest to finding the rest. Finding that right blend of fight styles will be up to you. A character like Jawbreaker, a heavy-fisted brute, is good for ground-and-pound attacks, where as characters like Chopper, a raptor/mini-T-rex toting a helicopter pack, are great for attacks from the sky. With over 40 characters, a shortage of firepower will not be the case.

Trapped villains can be swapped in and out by using a new portal, which has a built-in speaker of its own and when changed out, quipped comments can be heard. Once equipped with a certain partner, you can switch between the two with a press of a button, but there’s a timer for how long a villain can be used at a time. It is possible to switch as many times as you want, though, just by waiting for the bar to recharge. It’s all about being strategic and calculating with switches.



The cool thing about Skylanders Trap Team is that it’s kid-friendly. Even though there’s mild fighting and explosions, all sequences are kept light and sometimes even funny. With the incorporation of puzzles, critical, and spatial thinking, there’s an element of learning as well. Children and adults alike will be on the frontier of explorations with this one, in a battle of good and evil.
 
Skylanders Trap Team is still a work in progress, but we can expect an October 5 release date in North America on PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U, Wii, and 3DS.
More GR previews for this game:
Skylanders Trap Team preview posted on 04/23/14.
Skylanders Trap Team preview posted on 09/15/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Skylanders Trap Team


More On GameRevolution