More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Skylanders Trap Team Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
06/19/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Toys for Bob 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence, Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

Is this a trap?

At my hands-off showing of Skylanders Trap Team, a world of flying dinosaurs, candy-barfing piñatas, and tomato-shooting artichokes were presented to me in such a way that if there were only one copy of the game left, some kid and I might have to arm-wrestle for it. The majestic visuals of the lay of the land can be enchanting. With an even blend of smoothly crafted shapes and colors, it’s truly an attention-grabber.
 
The folks at Toys for Bob, developers of this fable-like creation, are back at it again. With the concept and plot sounding like something out of a Maurice Sendak story, Trap Team centers around the evil villains of Cloudcracker prison who have just broken out with the help from Kaos. After their break to freedom, each of them set out through Skylands to wreak havoc. It is now up to the original Skylanders and Trap Master Skylanders to seek out their foes and recapture them all (maybe they should get a little help from Ash, just saying).


 
There are plenty of villains to chase after, each having their unique set of powers. After defeating and capturing the enemy, you are then able to use them in your quest to finding the rest. Finding that right blend of fight styles will be up to you. A character like Jawbreaker, a heavy-fisted brute, is good for ground-and-pound attacks, where as characters like Chopper, a raptor/mini-T-rex toting a helicopter pack, are great for attacks from the sky. With over 40 characters, a shortage of firepower will not be the case.

Trapped villains can be swapped in and out by using a new portal, which has a built-in speaker of its own and when changed out, quipped comments can be heard. Once equipped with a certain partner, you can switch between the two with a press of a button, but there’s a timer for how long a villain can be used at a time. It is possible to switch as many times as you want, though, just by waiting for the bar to recharge. It’s all about being strategic and calculating with switches.



The cool thing about Skylanders Trap Team is that it’s kid-friendly. Even though there’s mild fighting and explosions, all sequences are kept light and sometimes even funny. With the incorporation of puzzles, critical, and spatial thinking, there’s an element of learning as well. Children and adults alike will be on the frontier of explorations with this one, in a battle of good and evil.
 
Skylanders Trap Team is still a work in progress, but we can expect an October 5 release date in North America on PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U, Wii, and 3DS.
More GR previews for this game:
Skylanders Trap Team preview posted on 04/23/14.
Skylanders Trap Team preview posted on 09/15/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Skylanders Trap Team