More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
06/07/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER SCEA 
DEVELOPER Sanzaru Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Alcohol Reference, Cartoon Violence, Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

Sony, you Sly... Raccoon.


After a six-year hiatus from PlayStation consoles, it was only a matter of time before Sly Cooper made a return. At Sony's E3 Press Conference, the fourth installment of the thievius raccoonus was announced as Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time.

Sly Cooper may be back, but the original developers, Sucker Punch, aren't at the helm. As they were hard at work on inFamous 2, Sanzaru Games, who helped remaster the original Sly titles in HD (and 3D), took the reins of Sony's franchise. Don't fear, though; this is the same Sly Cooper you know and love.

click to enlargeWell, not entirely the same. The visuals have seen a major upgrade with the jump to the PlayStation 3. The cartoony animations are intact, but with much more detail and an overall crispness that weren't possible in the remastering in The Sly Collection. The advanced detail is used to bring personality to the characters. Murray, for example, was just a fat hippo (how fitting), but this time around, there are visual cues--like bulging biceps--that indicate his raw power and strength.

Sly himself may not appear to have changed at all, but he is a lot older, more sophisticated, and has a few tricks up his sleeve. Each level offers Sly a new costume. These costumes aren't just disguises for the thieving raccoon, they also grant Sly abilities. In the demo we were shown a pirate costume that slowed down time, assisting Sly with puzzles. Another costume was a suit of armor, which deflected a bosses' fireballs back at him.

click to enlargeBoss battles will be a key highlight in the game. Sanzaru called them "super epic set-piece boss battles", but they were really just your standard fare. In our demo, Sly took on El Jefe (voiced by Nolan North), an egotistical, pyromaniac nutjob tiger, that puts cigars out in the palm of his hand. He sets the stage aflame, and promptly takes off. Sly must give chase, while the entire environment around him falls apart; the environments themselves weigh heavily in boss battles. As for "super epic"m we really don't think so - this was your traditional "learn bosses' pattern, use it against him". But that doesn't at all detract from the fun factor, and if anything, likely helps with accessibility for the core target audience: families and children.

Despite Sly being a family-orientated platform, the game is plenty of fun for all ages. And there is more than enough satirical humor to keep you laughing. That's a big part of what makes Sly great. It also makes it clear that even though Sucker Punch is no longer involved (although Sanzaru does discuss creative decisions with them), this is still the Sly Cooper that stole your heart all those years ago.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time


More On GameRevolution