More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 Preview

Vince_Ingenito By:
Vince_Ingenito
12/13/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER City Interactive 
DEVELOPER City Interactive 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Brainless fish in a pretty barrel.

Just moments after asking what happens when things go south during a mission in Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2, I get to experience it firsthand: The trio of guards whose heads I haven't yet popped kindly line up for me, crouched behind an overturned canoe that my high-powered rifle rounds can pass through as easily as air. I rush my first shot, the barrel jerking up from my spastic trigger pull. It still connects, sending a distant stranger tumbling to the ground. Against any possible logic, his two friends stay put, as if the “cover” they're clinging to will protect them any better than their recently deceased comrade. Calmly, joylessly, I pick them off. I don't feel like a hunter so much as a killer.

And that's the catch with City Interactive's follow-up to the original Sniper: Ghost Warrior. It has all the core elements in place to be a solid entry in its super-specific sub-genre. There's the near fetishistic attention to detail on your rifle and its scope, a full ballistic simulation, and of course the bullet cam. (Can't have a sniper game without one of those.) Competent application of CryEngine 3 has done much for the game's look, particularly in the jungles of the Philippines, where my aforementioned shooting gallery took place. The boxes are all checked, and the mechanics are solid.



But the problem is the hollowness. The only time I felt any sense of agency was when I was looking down scope. Both of the areas in my demo were narrowly focused, with little to no opportunity for improvisation or creativity. This is partly due to the level design, which more or less keeps you on rails until you reach some “scenery” that needs shooting. There's no infiltrating or strategizing of any kindyou just move towards the waypoint, go prone, and hit your targets in the right order so no one sees any dead bodies until it's too late. For some folks that will be enough, but others may find this limiting.

That said, shooting feels nice, with everything from wind and heart rate to how smoothly I pull the trigger affecting my shots. In fact, many will have to play on the game's “casual” mode in which a red assist dot shows you where you'll need to aim to adjust for the various simulation factors. For my tastes, it turns the experience into something of a shooting galleryjust line the red dot up with your targets one by one and watch them drop but junior marksmen really won't have any choice but to use it. Without the assist, shooting feels more organic and rewarding, but even when you inevitably miss a shot, scenarios like the example in the first paragraph occur, replacing a feeling of tension with the strangely unwelcome sensation of being an all-powerful finger of God.



Visually, the game is much more sophisticated than you'd expect for the modest $39.99 sticker it'll bare when it comes to retail and lining up the perfect shot does indeed feel incredible, but I'm not sure if the AI and level design will be anything more than methods to get you from one gallery to the next. Even in the open-looking urban map I sampled, you're led down a single path by a combination of invisible walls and a gutsy spotter who calls out every shot and dictates your every move to you. For a player like me who finds reconnaissance, infiltration and planning to be just as stimulating as the sniping itself, Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 may fall a bit flat. But if you just want pretty visuals, good shooting mechanics, and an affordable price, keep your eye out for it on January 15th.  
More GR previews for this game:
Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 preview posted on 12/13/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2


More On GameRevolution