More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric Preview

ryanbates By:
ryanbates
06/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Big Red Button 
RELEASE DATE 11/18/2014
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Teamwork makes the dream work.

There have been a number of 3D adventure titles featuring Sonic the Hedgehog, and by and large they mostly all suck. So when I heard I would be previewing Sonic Boom on Wii U, I assumed I was being punished for something. But oddly enough, after my hands-on demo with the development team, I walked away thinking that maybe, just maybe, we finally might have a winner on our hands.

Sega has rebooted the entire Sonic universe for Sonic Boom, and it's more than just one game. Sonic, Tails, Amy, and Knuckles have been completely retooled and re-imagined not only for the Wii U title, but a 3DS 2.5-dimension platformer, a new cartoon launching on Cartoon Network in the fall 2014 season, and of course, toys as far as the eyes can see.



All elements of Sonic Boom will share the same mythos, with the Wii U and 3DS games serving as prequels to the upcoming cartoon. Two new characters will also be introduced in the games: Sticks, a friend of Amy's who has lived in the jungle most of her life, and the evil Lyric, a mechanically-enhanced snake with a thing against humanity.

The Wii U title, a three-dimensional adventure that blends platforming with puzzle-solving, reintroduces us to the new Sonic and Co., as they learn more about the new threat posed by Lyric. Each character has been designed to be more identifiable to the uninitiated, including a new generation of Sonic players, and to make their talents more immediately noticeable: Sonic's wraps around his ankles signifies speed, as we all know; Tails, with his wrench and aviator goggles, belies his intelligence and flying/gliding capabilities; Amy has style and grace with her motions, while wielding a sizable mallet; and Knuckles lifts, brah, with his larger frame pointing to his strength and power. ​



The crew has a shocking new ability to utilize as well. Sonic and crew utilize a new electric beam power, which they can use to stun and lasso enemies, pull switches, grab items, and more. Sonic can collect the familiar rings to maintain health or robot parts to be used as currency. Certain “shiny” items can be collected and brought to Sticks, who will commission fetch quests and properly reward them upon completion.

I can't lie; I had low expectations. I mean, Sonic and the Secret Rings? Sonic Colors? Sonic Unleashed? I was not looking forward to Sonic Boom. When I left, I was pleasantly surprised. The demo wasn't that long, but the action and puzzle-solving was easy to pick up, the new mechanic were simple to learn and handle, and it was legitimately kinda fun as well. Traditionalists may not like it (actually, traditionalists should check out the 3DS Sonic Boom title), but those who like the characters and don't mind experimenting in new arenas and formats should honestly look into Sonic Boom when it releases November 2014. God knows your kids will be.

Tags:   E3, Sonic, Wii U, sega

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric


More On GameRevolution