More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Water, Water Everywhere: 15 of the Best Water Worlds in Gaming
Lots of water worlds suck, but not these ones, and they're completely Kevin Costner-free.

An Updating List of PlayStation 4 Updates We Want
Sony and Microsoft have been updating their consoles regularly, but we wanted to share our own ideas for updating the PS4 firmware.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric Preview

ryanbates By:
ryanbates
06/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Big Red Button 
RELEASE DATE 11/18/2014
RP What do these ratings mean?

Teamwork makes the dream work.

There have been a number of 3D adventure titles featuring Sonic the Hedgehog, and by and large they mostly all suck. So when I heard I would be previewing Sonic Boom on Wii U, I assumed I was being punished for something. But oddly enough, after my hands-on demo with the development team, I walked away thinking that maybe, just maybe, we finally might have a winner on our hands.

Sega has rebooted the entire Sonic universe for Sonic Boom, and it's more than just one game. Sonic, Tails, Amy, and Knuckles have been completely retooled and re-imagined not only for the Wii U title, but a 3DS 2.5-dimension platformer, a new cartoon launching on Cartoon Network in the fall 2014 season, and of course, toys as far as the eyes can see.



All elements of Sonic Boom will share the same mythos, with the Wii U and 3DS games serving as prequels to the upcoming cartoon. Two new characters will also be introduced in the games: Sticks, a friend of Amy's who has lived in the jungle most of her life, and the evil Lyric, a mechanically-enhanced snake with a thing against humanity.

The Wii U title, a three-dimensional adventure that blends platforming with puzzle-solving, reintroduces us to the new Sonic and Co., as they learn more about the new threat posed by Lyric. Each character has been designed to be more identifiable to the uninitiated, including a new generation of Sonic players, and to make their talents more immediately noticeable: Sonic's wraps around his ankles signifies speed, as we all know; Tails, with his wrench and aviator goggles, belies his intelligence and flying/gliding capabilities; Amy has style and grace with her motions, while wielding a sizable mallet; and Knuckles lifts, brah, with his larger frame pointing to his strength and power. ​



The crew has a shocking new ability to utilize as well. Sonic and crew utilize a new electric beam power, which they can use to stun and lasso enemies, pull switches, grab items, and more. Sonic can collect the familiar rings to maintain health or robot parts to be used as currency. Certain “shiny” items can be collected and brought to Sticks, who will commission fetch quests and properly reward them upon completion.

I can't lie; I had low expectations. I mean, Sonic and the Secret Rings? Sonic Colors? Sonic Unleashed? I was not looking forward to Sonic Boom. When I left, I was pleasantly surprised. The demo wasn't that long, but the action and puzzle-solving was easy to pick up, the new mechanic were simple to learn and handle, and it was legitimately kinda fun as well. Traditionalists may not like it (actually, traditionalists should check out the 3DS Sonic Boom title), but those who like the characters and don't mind experimenting in new arenas and formats should honestly look into Sonic Boom when it releases November 2014. God knows your kids will be.

Tags:   E3, Sonic, Wii U, sega
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric


More On GameRevolution