More Reviews
REVIEWS NBA LIVE 15 Review
Yes, NBA Live was horrible last year. But this year's entry is a vast improvement. Just give it a try.

Dungeon of the Endless Review
A roguelike that’s equal parts charming and challenging with a turn-based twist.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Resident Evil Revelations 2 Preview
Capcom returns to the episodic format that entertained us in the first game of the sub series published on Nintendo 3DS and followed with a console release. What will Claire and company uncover this time?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

Sonic Generations Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/13/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Platformer 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Tubby Blue Blur vs. Lean and Mean: Pick A Side!


Sega has caught some flack for their 3D Sonic titles over the past few years. Shadow the Hedgehog was universally panned and Sonic on PS3 and Xbox 360 was even worse, but it seems like Sega can't go too far wrong with the classic side-scrolling formula. That track record is going to be put to the test with their new retro mash-up, Sonic Generations.

As far as a storyline, from the little clues I can gather, but it looks like a general "the universes have merged" situation. There's Classic Sonic - portly gut and all - running and zooming alongside the new-school, lean Sonic to stop a so-far-unnamed enemy that's responsible for merging the two… well, generations. As a result, both hedgehogs will have to blast through both 2D side-scrolling and 3D open stages to, y'know, save the day and all.

Only two levels were playable, recreations of the first Green Hill Zone stage and the first level from Sonic Adventure 2, but they played well enough to get me excited. I didn't play much SA2, but I played the hell out of the original Sonic and that first level had me flashing back to sitting on the floor in front of the TV as a kid. For a side-scrolling Sonic, that's about the best we can ask for.

The best part is that the 3DS version is different from the console incarnations. The only levels available to demo were the same the console versions offered, but the information I was given was that it will be an entirely unique experience. I'm hoping that means that the 3DS will re-vamp and re-imagine portable levels while the consoles go back to the bigger worlds and stages. And… it supports StreetPass. It's totally up in the air as to what that means - probably ghost and time data - but there's no way to tell definitively right now.

Sonic Generations is scheduled to drop by the end of 2011, and I for one want to see how this shakes out. Bringing back the stages I adore to this day, make them prettier and let me play as the chubby little 'hog? I'm listening...

More GR previews for this game:
Sonic Generations preview posted on 06/13/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Sonic Generations


More On GameRevolution